SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 813

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas is pleased to recognize Boy Scout Troop 399 of Austin, which is honoring 16 of its members as Eagle Scouts at an Eagle Court of Honor on May 17, 2009; and

WHEREAS, Few are privileged to be named among the elite corps of Eagle Scouts; only five out of every 100 Boy Scouts earn this distinguished honor; and

WHEREAS, Chartered by Tarrytown United Methodist Church, Troop 399 is fortunate to have so many young men achieve this signal honor, given its rigorous standards and the demands of time and dedication needed to fulfill its requirements; and

WHEREAS, These outstanding young Scouts have followed the principles of the Scout oath and promise and advanced from Tenderfoot, Second, First, Star, and Life classes to become Eagle Scouts; they have further completed a service project that required them to exercise their leadership abilities and at the same time benefit their community; and

WHEREAS, The exemplary young men who have realized this cherished goal are Andrew W. Wiewel, James R. Thompson III, Bennett A. Nadeau, Peter J. Teneriello, Stephen A. King, Eli V. Mendoza, Andrew T. Marshall, Wilson T. Bauer, Benjamin K. Lowry, Jonathan O. Box, Roy G. Reyna, Samuel M. Faries, Travis B. Owens, Andrew M. Klitch, Santiago R. Dietche, and Cornelius J. Donovan II; and

WHEREAS, These exemplary young men have brought honor to themselves, their families, their troop, their community, and their state; now, therefore, be it RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 81st

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 81st Legislature, hereby commend Troop 399 and its members who have demonstrated their talent and commitment by becoming Eagle Scouts; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for them as an expression of esteem from the Texas Senate.

Watson

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on May 1, 2009.

Secretary of the Senate