SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 824

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas takes great pleasure in recognizing the fifth class of the Senator Gregory Luna Legislative Scholars and Fellows Program, offered through the Senate Hispanic Research Council and named in memory of Senator Gregory Luna of San Antonio; and

WHEREAS, A true champion for the underrepresented and underserved in Texas, Senator Luna dedicated his life to public service and fought for educational equity; and

WHEREAS, As a tribute to Senator Luna's admirable work in the Senate, this prestigious program was created to provide opportunities for undergraduate and graduate students from across the state to serve as full-time legislative assistants in the Texas Senate and acquire the training necessary to become successful leaders for our great state; and

WHEREAS, These Scholars and Fellows perform a variety of legislative tasks and are learning firsthand how public policy is shaped; they also coordinated the Third Biennial Senator Gregory Luna Scholars Youth Leadership Institute, which assisted high school students from the historic Edgewood Independent School District with successful completion of their college admission process and gave them an inside look at the legislative process; and

WHEREAS, following The Scholars and Fellows have demonstrated outstanding dedication and achievement in Senate offices: Angélica Aguilar from El Paso, serving in the office of State Senator Judith Zaffirini; Adán Arriaga from Jasper, serving in the office of State Senator John Whitmire; Natalie Fontenot from Orange, serving in the office of State Senator Eddie Lucio at the International Relations and Trade Committee; Martha Perez Montalvo from Denton, serving in the office of State Senator Kip Averitt at the Natural Resources Committee; Rodolfo Morales III from Laredo, serving in the office of State Senator Mario Gallegos, Jr.; Roque Planas from Virginia Beach, serving in the office of State Senator Kirk Watson; Claudia Ordaz from El Paso, serving in the office of State Senator Eliot Shapleigh; Cristal Retana from Farmers Branch, serving in the office of State Senator Jeff Wentworth; Kristilyn Rehmann from Spring, serving in the office of State Senator Kel Seliger; Adrian Reyna from San Antonio, serving in the office of State Senator Leticia Van de Putte; Daniel Joshua Reyna from McAllen, serving in the office of State Senator Juan "Chuy" Hinojosa; James Riley from Anthem, serving in the office of Lieutenant Governor David Dewhurst; Ana Luz Villalobos from Austin, serving in the office of State Senator Carlos Uresti; Sergio Villarreal from the Paso del Norte region, serving in the office of State Senator Robert Duncan at the State Affairs Committee; and Bianca Villescas from Edinburg, serving in the office of State Senator Royce West; now, therefore, be it

S.R. No. 824

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 81st Legislature, hereby commend these promising students for their remarkable service this session and wish them continued success as they prepare to become the future leaders of our great state; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That copies of this Resolution be presented to them as an expression of esteem from the Texas Senate.

Hinojosa

		~1 ·
Averitt	Harris	Shapiro
Carona	Hegar	Shapleigh
Davis	Huffman	Uresti
Deuell	Jackson	Van de Putte
Duncan	Lucio	Watson
Ellis	Nelson	Wentworth
Eltife	Nichols	West
Estes	Ogden	Whitmire
Fraser	Patrick	Williams
Gallegos	Seliger	Zaffirini

Dewhurst, President of the Senate

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on May 6, 2009.

Secretary of the Senate

Member, Texas Senate