## SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 852

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas is pleased to recognize Douglas N. Stover on his outstanding service as mayor of the City of Coppell; and

WHEREAS, Dedicated to the Coppell community, Doug Stover has used his superior administrative and organizational skills to manage successfully the far-reaching responsibilities of a mayor's position; and

WHEREAS, During his tenure, he has been committed to financial strength, economic development, infrastructure maintenance, public safety, education, and city services; and

WHEREAS, Mayor Stover was elected to the Coppell City Council in 1998 and was elected mayor in 2003; under his leadership as mayor, the City of Coppell has added facilities, created new projects, and improved infrastructure; and

WHEREAS, City projects that have evolved include the Justice Center, the Municipal Service Center, the Aquatic and Recreation Center, and the Animal Shelter and Adoption Center; and

WHEREAS, The mayor's focus on economic development led to new revenue for the city from commercial and industrial complexes; his emphasis on public safety resulted in the installation of red-light cameras and the establishment of 25-mile-per-hour speed limits on residential streets; sales tax initiatives generated funding for the school district and for the Infrastructure Maintenance Fund; and

1

S.R. No. 852

WHEREAS, Mayor Stover's distinguished public service and citywide projects have reshaped the City of Coppell and improved the quality of life for area residents, and he deserves recognition for his many accomplishments; now, therefore, be it

**RESOLVED**, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 81st Legislature, hereby commend Doug Stover on his exceptional service as mayor of the City of Coppell and extend to him best wishes for the future; and, be it further

**RESOLVED,** That a copy of this Resolution be prepared in honor of Mayor Doug Stover.

Harris, Shapiro

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on May 6, 2009.

Secretary of the Senate

Member, Texas Senate

Member, Texas Senate