SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 879

WHEREAS, Dr. Patricia L. Starck has served The University of Texas Health Science Center at Houston as Dean of the School of Nursing in an exemplary manner for 25 years; and

Nursing in an exemplary manner for 25 years; and WHEREAS, A native of Georgia, Dean Starck completed her associate of science degree in nursing at Georgia Southwestern College in Americus, Georgia; she received her bachelor of science degree in nursing and her master of science degree in nursing from Emory University in Atlanta, Georgia, and received her doctor of science degree in nursing from the University of Alabama at Birmingham; and

WHEREAS, Dean Starck has made significant contributions to scholarship and research in her field, receiving 14 grant awards for her work; she has published 45 articles for journals, has published and served as editor on 18 publications, and has collaborated on and led 12 clinical research projects and six education research projects for instructional distribution; and

WHEREAS, Under the leadership of this accomplished woman, student enrollment in the school of nursing has nearly doubled; philanthropic giving has increased more than twenty-fold; the number of endowed scholarships has risen from two to 24 and the number of endowed chairs from one to 13, and seven research endowments have been created; the number of faculty has nearly doubled; and

WHEREAS, Under Dean Starck's guidance, a new award-winning 195,000-square-foot, eight-floor LEED Gold-Certified green building has been constructed to house the school of nursing, which formerly occupied three floors of an office building; and

WHEREAS, Under her leadership, the school of nursing has established the Women's Health Care Nursing Program; the Center for Nursing Research; the Center on Aging; the Pediatric Nursing Practitioner Program; the Neonatal Nursing Program; the Acute Care Nursing Program; the Adult Health Nursing Program; the Center for Substance Abuse Prevention, Education, and Research; the Biological Sciences Laboratory; the Nursing Leadership and Administration Program; the BSN BAC2 Degree Program, which became independent in 2008; the doctor of science in nursing degree program; and the first doctor of nursing practice degree program in Texas; and

WHEREAS, Dean Starck established PARTNERS volunteer support group, which generously contributes to the school of nursing through scholarships, endowed professorships, and research funds and encourages, nurtures, and supports nursing students in their studies; and

WHEREAS, The school of nursing graduate degree program has been named as among the top five percent of graduate nursing programs in the nation in the U.S. News & World Report 2010 edition of "America's Best Graduate Schools"; and

WHEREAS, Dean Starck has brought honor to the institution and to herself as the recipient of numerous awards and distinctions, including the 2005 Health Policy Award; the Presidential Award for Distinguished Contributions and Sterling Leadership; the XIV Congress on Viktor Frankl's Logotherapy; the Griffin B. Bell Distinguished Lecturer, Georgia Southwestern State University; the Sister Bernadette Armiger Award, American

S.R. No. 879

Association of Colleges of Nursing; the Nursing Excellence Leadership Award, Houston Organization of Nurses; the Distinguished Professional Woman's Award, The University of Texas Health Science Center at Houston Committee on the Status of Women 1993; the Collaboration Between Nursing Service and Education Award, Council Deans/Directors and Nurse Executives; Woman of Excellence, Federation of Business and Professional Women; Outstanding Woman in Education, YWCA Honoree; Leadership Texas; Lifetime Membership, Alumni Association, The University of Texas Health Science Center at Houston School of Nursing; she is also a member of Sigma Xi, Sigma Theta Tau, and Phi Kappa Phi societies, and is a Fellow of the American Academy of Nursing; and

WHEREAS, Dean Starck has shown exemplary leadership in addressing the nursing shortage crisis, working tirelessly to ensure passage of the doctor of nursing practice program in order to provide for the education of nurses to serve this region now and in the future; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 81st Legislature, hereby honor Dr. Patricia L. Starck for her outstanding achievements as Dean of The University of Texas Health Science Center at Houston School of Nursing and her contributions to the health of Texans and countless others through her leadership in nursing education and commend her for her professional accomplishments; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for Dr. Starck as an expression of high regard by the Texas Senate.

Ellis

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on May 8, 2009.

Secretary of the Senate

Member, Texas Senate