SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 900

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas is pleased to recognize Dobie Middle School students Keiko Harris and Paul Mannie III on their outstanding achievements at the regional and state conferences of Business Professionals of America and on having earned the opportunity to attend the organization's National Leadership Conference; and WHEREAS, Keiko is the Dobie Middle School Business

WHEREAS, Keiko is the Dobie Middle School Business Professionals of America chapter secretary; she won awards in business fundamentals and keyboarding at the regional leadership conference and earned a national qualifier ranking in keyboarding at the state competition; and

WHEREAS, Paul is the chapter president of Dobie Middle School Business Professionals of America; he earned six awards at the regional leadership conference, including three first-place awards in business communications, business fundamentals, and computer literacy; he earned a national qualifier ranking in extemporaneous speaking in the state competition; and

WHEREAS, Paul and Keiko are outstanding eighth-grade students at Dobie Middle School; they are both on the honor roll and have demonstrated leadership in school and community activities; Paul is active in school athletics and plays in the band and the drum line; Keiko is on the Dobie track team and participates in the theater arts program; and

WHEREAS, Keiko and Paul are exceptional students and sources of tremendous pride for their families, their fellow students, and the faculty and administrators of Dobie Middle School; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 81st Legislature, hereby commend Keiko Harris and Paul Mannie III on their outstanding achievements and extend to them best wishes for success in all their future endeavors; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for them as an expression of esteem from the Texas Senate.

Watson

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on May 13, 2009.

Secretary of the Senate