SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 912

In Memory of Cohnway Matthew Johnson

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas joins the citizens of Rockdale in mourning the loss of Cohnway Matthew Johnson, who died May 4, 2009, at the age of 26; and

WHEREAS, A 2001 graduate of Pflugerville High School, Cohnway attended Stephen F. Austin University in Nacogdoches; he graduated from the Taylor Fire Academy in May of 2004; and

WHEREAS, He began his professional firefighting and emergency medical technician career with the fire department in Yoakum, and he had worked with fire departments in the Manor, Oak Hill, and Westlake areas; in May of 2006, he joined the Oak Hill Fire Department, where he served with distinction; he had recently begun training with the Houston Fire Department; and

WHEREAS, Cohnway was dedicated to his work as a firefighter and was committed to achieving his highest potential in the profession; he was loyal and dependable and will be greatly missed by the firefighters with whom he worked; and

WHEREAS, He was an exemplary young man who was known for his kind-heartedness and concern for the well-being of others; and

WHEREAS, Cohnway Johnson was beloved by his family and friends, and he leaves behind memories that will be deeply treasured by all who were privileged to share in his life; now, therefore, be it

S.R. No. 912

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 81st Legislature, hereby extend sincere condolences to the bereaved family of Cohnway Matthew Johnson: his parents, Clifford M. and Candy Johnson; his brother, Christopher M. Johnson; his grandparents, Bernice Britton and Clifford and Mary Lou Johnson; and his many other beloved relatives; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for his family as an expression of deepest sympathy from the Texas Senate, and that when the Senate adjourns this day, it do so in memory of Cohnway Johnson.

Watson

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on May 14, 2009, by a rising vote.

Secretary of the Senate

Member, Texas Senate