SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 914

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas is pleased to recognize Saint Martin's Evangelical Lutheran Church of Austin, Texas, on the grand occasion of its 125th anniversary; and

WHEREAS, A congregation of the Evangelical Lutheran Church in America, Saint Martin's Evangelical Lutheran Church has its roots in bimonthly German Lutheran worship services that began in 1883 and were conducted by Reverend Henry Merz, a missionary from Switzerland; and

WHEREAS, The church's first structure was built in 1884 on East Peach Street, now 13th Street, with handmade bricks salvaged from the original Capitol building, which had been destroyed by fire; since then, the church has grown considerably and has moved twice because of expansion of the Capitol grounds; the cornerstones of the first two churches have been placed in the front wall of the present building, which was dedicated in 1960 and is located on West 15th Street; and

WHEREAS, Over the last 125 years, the church has ministered faithfully to the needs of the citizens of Austin and has continued to grow and prosper; the church has a Lutheran school and a Stephen's Ministry and offers a variety of support groups and outreach programs; and

WHEREAS, The church has also served as an invaluable source of strength to its members during their hardships and in difficult times; and

WHEREAS, The observance of the church's 125th anniversary is an opportunity to celebrate the support and inspiration it provides to area citizens and its contributions to the community; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 81st Legislature, hereby extend best wishes to the clergy and members of Saint Martin's Evangelical Lutheran Church on the joyous occasion of its 125th anniversary; and, be it further

occasion of its 125th anniversary; and, be it further RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared to commemorate this special occasion.

Watson

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on May 14, 2009.

Secretary of the Senate

Member, Texas Senate