SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 921

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas is pleased to recognize Texas Disposal Systems on its selection as the recipient of the top Landfill Management Award for 2008 by the Solid Waste Association of North America; and

WHEREAS, Officially named the Gold recipient in the Landfill Management Award category, Texas Disposal Systems, an Austin-area solid waste services company, earned the nation's most prestigious landfill management Excellence Award; and

WHEREAS, The Solid Waste Association of North America sponsors its Excellence Awards Program to recognize outstanding solid waste programs and facilities that advance the practice of environmentally and economically sound waste management; and

WHEREAS, Solid waste companies are also chosen for their commitment to utilizing effective technologies and processes in system design and operations, advancing worker and community health and safety, and implementing successful public education and outreach programs; and

WHEREAS, Texas Disposal Systems has worked over the past 20 years to operate a showcase landfill, recycling, and composting facility and has demonstrated that a large facility of its type can be a good neighbor and a major asset to the community; and

WHEREAS, The company receives solid waste and recyclables from more than 30 Central Texas cities; the facility boasts an exotic game ranch of more than 1,200 animals and a meeting complex with a 500-seat pavilion, which is available free of charge for use by qualifying, nonprofit organizations; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 81st Legislature, hereby commend Texas Disposal Systems on its exemplary facility and extend congratulations to all associated with the company on its top Landfill Management Award for 2008; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared in honor of Texas Disposal Systems.

Watson, Wentworth

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on May 15, 2009.

Secretary of the Senate

Member, Texas Senate

Member, Texas Senate