## SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 925

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas is pleased to recognize the Aransas Pass Navy Junior Reserve Officers' Training Corps drill teams, which won national championship titles recently in Daytona Beach, Florida; and

WHEREAS, The Aransas Pass teams competed in inspection, drill, color guard, and exhibition or performance categories to win in the challenger division; 57 teams from across the nation were competing in the challenger division, which is structured for small schools; and

WHEREAS, Cadets who participated in the national competition in Daytona Beach include commanding officer Deborah Snyder, Kwintasha Crim, Mary Elizabeth Goff, Brittni McMinn, Jocelyn Lara, Aubry Cervantes, Cheryl Beardsley, Vanessa Balderas, Kelsey Choats, Sarah Harris, Shelby Hargrove, Kacey Vance, Patricia Fraga, Erika Shaw, Aerial Cruz, Amy Trader, Britani Cox, Ashley Gonzalez, Cesar Cantu, Jordan Hamilton, Zach Wallingsford, Michael Williams, Jereme Gonzalez, Cody Tesar, Stevie Jackson, Tommy Haechten, Matt Garza, Brad Kilgore, Justin Morris, Marcela Lara, Magdeline Goff, and Kyle Temmen, the executive officer; and

WHEREAS, Under the outstanding leadership of senior naval science instructor Lieutenant Commander Louis A. Cortez and naval science instructor Senior Chief Emilio Del Rio, the members of the teams performed superbly, and they deserve recognition for their impressive skills and outstanding achievement; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 81st Legislature, hereby commend the members of the Aransas Pass Navy Junior Reserve Officers' Training Corps drill teams for winning national championship titles and extend to them best wishes for the future; and, be it further

**RESOLVED,** That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for the cadets as an expression of esteem from the Texas Senate.

Hinojosa

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on May 15, 2009.

Secretary of the Senate