SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 932

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas is pleased to recognize Dr. Max Castillo, who is stepping down as president of the University of Houston-Downtown; and

WHEREAS, Dr. Castillo became president of the University of Houston-Downtown in 1992 following a 10-year stint as president of San Antonio College; a graduate of Saint Mary's University in San Antonio, he earned his doctorate in educational administration at the University of Houston; and

WHEREAS, Under Dr. Castillo's outstanding leadership, the university has grown in response to the needs of the greater Houston area; four new buildings have been constructed, and master's programs have been developed in criminal justice, teaching, professional writing, and security management; and

WHEREAS, Dr. Castillo has overseen dramatic growth in the student body, with the number of students doubling during his tenure, and the University has become a model of student diversity among institutions of higher education in this state; and

WHEREAS, An outstanding educator and administrator, Dr. Castillo is taking a year's sabbatical before returning to the University of Houston's flagship campus as a member of the graduate faculty in the College of Education; and

WHEREAS, Dr. Castillo is respected and admired by colleagues and students alike, and his presence at the University of Houston-Downtown will be greatly missed; now, therefore, be it

of Houston-Downtown will be greatly missed; now, therefore, be it RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 81st Legislature, hereby commend Dr. Max Castillo on his many contributions to the University of Houston-Downtown and our state and extend to him best wishes for continued success in all his future endeavors; and, be it further

his future endeavors; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for him as an expression of high regard from the Texas Senate.

Gallegos

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on May 15, 2009.

Secretary of the Senate