SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 947

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas is pleased to recognize Thomas R. Diaz, Raymond L. Salazar, Erik L. Barron, and David M. Bair, who have been selected as recipients of the 2008 State of Texas Law Enforcement Achievement Award for Valor by the Texas Commission on Law Enforcement Officer Standards and Education; and

WHEREAS, The recipients are deputies in the Harris County Sheriff's Office who faced a serious incident together while serving in the line of duty on November 15, 2008; and

serving in the line of duty on November 15, 2008; and WHEREAS, On the night of November 15, Deputy Diaz responded to a call regarding a pickup truck that had been involved in a drive-by shooting; after stopping the truck, he was fired upon at close range by the driver; Deputy Diaz returned to his patrol unit and immediately began a pursuit of the vehicle; and

WHEREAS, He was quickly joined by Deputy Salazar, Deputy Barron, and Deputy Bair, who were also fired upon; the suspect's vehicle collided with Deputy Salazar's vehicle, and the suspect was immediately surrounded by the deputies; after gunfire was exchanged, the suspect died at the scene; and

WHEREAS, These deputies all faced serious danger and performed their duties without hesitation; they are men of courage and tenacity who displayed the highest degree of professionalism; now, therefore, be it

professionalism; now, therefore, be it **RESOLVED**, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 81st Legislature, hereby commend Deputies Thomas R. Diaz, Raymond L. Salazar, Erik L. Barron, and David M. Bair on their outstanding service in the field of law enforcement and congratulate them on earning the 2008 State of Texas Law Enforcement Achievement Award for Valor; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared in their honor as an expression of esteem from the Texas Senate.

Ellis

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on May 18, 2009.

Secretary of the Senate

Member, Texas Senate