SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 1006

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas is pleased to recognize Mark Vallejo, who has been named the Communities in Schools Board Member of the Year; and

WHEREAS, This prestigious award honors those who have demonstrated superior commitment to the Communities in Schools program with outstanding initiative, leadership, and creativity; and

WHEREAS, An employee of IBM Corporation, Mr. Vallejo has been a member of the board of Communities in Schools of San Antonio, Incorporated, for 10 years; during his tenure as a board member, he has served two terms as board chair and has chaired

three standing committees; and WHEREAS, In addition to attending board meetings, where he actively participates and provides valuable input, Mr. Vallejo attends charity events to help raise support and funds for the organization, and he has adopted two schools to better gain valuable experience with school staff, faculty, and students; and

WHEREAS, Mr. Vallejo routinely makes campus visits, where he uses his exceptional communication skills to work with students and staff; he has also spent his personal funds on a donation to a participating campus and for such items as track shoes for students who want to take part in athletics; and

WHEREAS, Mr. Vallejo is truly deserving of recognition for the time, effort, and passion he applies to this outstanding program; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 81st ature, hereby commend Mark Vallejo on his committed Legislature, hereby commend Mark Vallejo on his committed involvement in education and his many outstanding achievements on behalf of Communities in Schools of San Antonio, Incorporated, and extend congratulations to him on being named Communities in Schools Board Member of the Year; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for

him as an expression of esteem from the Texas Senate.

Van de Putte

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on May 25, 2009.

Secretary of the Senate