SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 1118

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas is pleased to pay tribute to one of its most beloved and valued staff members, Betty Cotte, by naming her the 2009 legislative recipient of the Betty King Public Service Award; and

WHEREAS, Betty Cotte is the administrative director in the office of Senator Steve Ogden; known for handling her responsibilities with dedication and skill, Betty is held in high regard by the legislators and the many Capitol staff members with whom she works; and

WHEREAS, After serving in upper-level management in private industry for over 30 years, Betty joined Senator Ogden's staff in 1996, while he was serving in the Texas House of Representatives; as the senator's administrative director, Betty holds a position that entails a wide range of responsibilities; and

WHEREAS, She provides valuable administrative oversight of the senator's Capitol and district offices and plays a major role in helping to meet the needs and address the concerns of constituents; she is also responsible for managing the senator's schedule and is often in the position of answering the many questions regarding the legislative process and various political issues that are typically directed to a senator's office; and

WHEREAS, Betty is known for her poise, her perseverance, and her ability to consistently accomplish the mission before her, no matter the uniqueness of the task or the challenges

1

S.R. No. 1118

entailed; her cheerful spirit, her ready smile, and her ability to maintain composure, even in the midst of chaos, endear her to all who know and work with her; and

WHEREAS, She is an impressive administrator who is highly respected for her work ethic, her professionalism, her positive attitude, and her loyalty and integrity, and she is most deserving of her selection for the Betty King Public Service Award; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 81st Legislature, hereby extend sincere appreciation to Betty Cotte for her outstanding service to the Texas Senate and congratulations to her on earning the 2009 Betty King Public Service Award; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for her as an expression of esteem from the Texas Senate.

Williams

Averitt	Harris	Seliger
Carona	Hegar	Shapiro
Davis	Hinojosa	Shapleigh
Deuell	Huffman	Uresti
Duncan	Jackson	Van de Putte
Ellis	Lucio	Watson
Eltife	Nelson	Wentworth
Estes	Nichols	West
Fraser	Ogden	Whitmire
Gallegos	Patrick	Zaffirini

Dewhurst, President of the Senate

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on June 1, 2009.

Secretary of the Senate

Member, Texas Senate