Monday, March 9, 2009

1:30 p.m. or upon adjournment

Senator Jackson's Desk






Pursuant to a notice posted in accordance with Senate Rule 11.18, a public hearing of the Senate Committee on Nominations was held on Monday, March 9, 2009, at Senator Jackson's Desk.







Senator Mike Jackson

Senator Kevin Eltife

Senator Glenn Hegar

Senator Jane Nelson

Senator Robert Nichols

Senator Eliot Shapleigh

Senator Kirk Watson






The chair called the meeting to order at 4:00 p.m.  There being a quorum present, the following business was transacted: 


The following member arrived after the roll was called:  Senator Shapleigh. 


Chairman Jackson recognized Senator Watson for a comment.


Senator Watson stressed the importance of tough questioning for nominees who appear in front of the committee.  Senator Watson also expressed his disappointment in the answers provided to the committee by Commissioner Andres Alcantar.


Senator Nichols moved that the committee vote to approve the nominations of the individuals nominated to the following entities: Texas Alcoholic Beverage Commission, Public Safety Commission, Advisory Board of Athletic Trainers, Texas Funeral Service Commission, Board of Pilot Commissioners for Galveston County Ports, Gulf Coast Waste Disposal Authority Board of Directors, Gulf States Marine Fisheries Commission, Texas Historical Commission, Task Force on Indigent Defense, Jefferson and Orange County Board of Pilot Commissioners, One Call Board, Texas State Board of Plumbing Examiners, Presiding Judge of the First Administrative Judicial Region, State Cemetery Committee, Telecommunications Planning and Oversight Council, and the Texas Workforce Commission.  At 4:04, by a vote of 7 ayes and 0 nays (Senator Nelson submitted a voting form to be shown voting aye) the committee voted to recommend the nominees to the full Senate for confirmation.


At 4:05 p.m. Senator Jackson moved that the committee stand recessed subject to the call of the chair; without objection, it was so ordered.







Senator Mike Jackson, Chair




Brian Carey, Clerk