## HOUSE CONCURRENT RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Southwest Airlines is celebrating its 40th 2 anniversary on June 18, 2011, providing a welcome opportunity to 3 celebrate the success of this signature Texas company and its 4 cofounder, Herb Kelleher; and

WHEREAS, In the mid-1960s, businessman Rollin W. 5 King conceived of a new kind of airline that could fly passengers 6 7 inexpensively and quickly across short distances; in a meeting with his lawyer, Herb Kelleher, at the St. Anthony Club in San Antonio, 8 he used a napkin to illustrate his idea, drawing a triangle with 9 points labeled San Antonio, Houston, and Dallas; this simple sketch 10 11 would go on to become a symbol of the infant company's ethos and to 12 form the basis of its initial route map; and

13 WHEREAS, Southwest Airlines was chartered as a Texas 14 corporation, and on June 18, 1971, the company began commercial flights with three Boeing 737 airliners and fewer than 70 15 employees; since then, thanks in large part to the dynamic 16 leadership of Mr. Kelleher, who served as the company's chairman, 17 president, and CEO from 1982 until 2001, Southwest has become one of 18 the most respected names in the industry; now under the direction of 19 Gary Kelly, nearly 35,000 employees schedule, maintain, and fly 20 21 more than 500 Boeing 737s between 72 cities in 37 states; the 22 airline operates 3,400 flights a day, making it the largest U.S. 23 carrier of domestic passengers as of September 2010; moreover, the 24 airline has turned a profit for 38 years in a row; and

1

1 WHEREAS, Southwest has regularly earned top rankings in 2 safety from the International Airline Passengers Association, and 3 it has consistently received the lowest ratio of customer 4 complaints per passenger boarded of all major U.S. airlines 5 according to data from the U.S. Department of Transportation; and

WHEREAS, This impressive record of customer satisfaction is 6 7 no doubt linked to Southwest's approach to employee relations; in 8 1973, the company initiated the first profit-sharing program in the U.S. airline industry, and it has never laid off or furloughed a 9 10 single employee; among its many honors, Southwest is often recognized as one of the best places in the country to work; in 11 12 addition, it was recently named the "greenest airline" by the nonprofit group Climate Counts, and it has been repeatedly ranked 13 14 as one of the most admired companies in the world by Fortune 15 magazine; and

WHEREAS, Over the last four decades, the percentage of 16 17 American adults who have flown on a commercial airliner has risen from 15 to 85 percent, a result that is often referred to as the 18 "Southwest Effect," and on the occasion of 19 this special anniversary, Mr. Kelleher, Mr. Kelly, and the employees of 20 21 Southwest may indeed take great pride in their enormous contributions to the mobility of Americans and to the culture as a 22 23 whole; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the 82nd Legislature of the State of Texas, 1st Called Session, hereby commemorate the 40th anniversary of Southwest Airlines and extend to Herb Kelleher, Gary Kelly, and the entire Southwest family sincere best wishes for continued success;

2

1 and, be it further

2 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 3 prepared for Southwest Airlines as an expression of high regard by 4 the Texas House of Representatives and Senate.

> Craddick Parker Darby Anchia

Straus Aliseda Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson of Dallas Anderson of McLennan Aycock Beck Berman Bohac Bonnen Branch Brown Burkett Burnam Button Cain Callegari Carter Castro Chisum Christian Coleman Cook Craddick Creighton Crownover Darby Davis of Dallas J. Davis of Harris S. Davis of Harris Deshotel Driver Dukes Dutton Eiland Eissler Elkins Farias Farrar Fletcher Flynn Frullo Gallego Garza Geren Giddings Gonzales of Hidalgo

Gonzales of Williamson Morrison Gonzalez Gooden Guillen Gutierrez Hamilton Hancock Hardcastle Harless Harper-Brown Hartnett Hernandez Luna Hilderbran Hochberg Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Howard of Travis Huberty Hughes Hunter Isaac Jackson Johnson Keffer King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kleinschmidt Kolkhorst Kuempel Landtroop Larson Laubenberg Lavender Legler Lewis Lozano Lucio III Lyne Madden Mallory Caraway Marqo Marquez Martinez Martinez Fischer McClendon Menendez Miles Miller of Comal Miller of Erath

Munoz, Jr. Murphy Naishtat Nash Oliveira Orr Otto Parker Patrick Paxton Pena Perry Phillips Pickett Pitts Price Quintanilla Raymond Reynolds Riddle Ritter Rodriquez Schwertner Scott Sheets Sheffield Shelton Simpson Smith of Harris Smith of Tarrant Smithee Solomons Strama Taylor of Collin Taylor of Galveston Thompson Torres Truitt Turner Veasey Villarreal Vo Walle Weber White Woolley Workman Zedler Zerwas

President of the Senate

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.C.R. No. 20 was adopted by the House on June 21, 2011, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House

I certify that H.C.R. No. 20 was adopted by the Senate on June 28, 2011, by a viva-voce vote.

Secretary of the Senate

APPROVED: \_\_\_\_\_

Date

Governor