H.C.R. No. 21

HOUSE CONCURRENT RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, The Dallas Mavericks have achieved the pinnacle of
- 2 success by winning the 2011 NBA championship, clinching the title
- 3 with a decisive 105-95 victory in Game 6 of the series on June 12;
- 4 and
- 5 WHEREAS, In a spectacular demonstration of teamwork, the
- 6 Mavericks defeated the Miami Heat four games to two; the Dallas
- 7 squad executed at both ends of the court throughout the finals,
- 8 neutralizing its highly touted opponents with a savvy,
- 9 unpredictable defense and lighting up the scoreboard with a
- 10 versatile offense; and
- 11 WHEREAS, The deciding game provided a showcase for the Mavs
- 12 multifaceted attack; guard Jason Terry led the team with 27 points
- 13 and gave a shooting clinic in the first half with a red-hot 8 for 10
- 14 run; breaking loose in the fourth quarter, forward Dirk Nowitzki
- 15 delivered 10 of his 21 points in the final 8 minutes, including the
- 16 jump shot that sealed the fate of the Heat; guard J. J. Barea
- $17\,$ contributed $15\,$ points and forward Shawn Marion had $12\,\text{,}$ while the
- 18 relentless Mavericks defense shut down key opposing players and
- 19 forced 17 turnovers that were converted into 27 points;
- 20 Mr. Nowitzki was named the Most Valuable Player of the series after
- 21 racking up an average of 26 points and 9.7 rebounds per game and
- 22 finishing off opponents with thrilling displays of fourth-quarter
- 23 dominance; and
- 24 WHEREAS, Joining an elite group, coach Rick Carlisle, a

H.C.R. No. 21

- 1 former Boston Celtic quard, became one of only eleven individuals
- 2 to win an NBA title as both a player and a head coach; he deftly
- 3 adjusted the Dallas game plan after the third game of the series,
- 4 and his bold decision to alter the lineup was revealed as a
- 5 masterstroke; Mr. Barea caught fire in his new role as a starting
- 6 guard, and DeShawn Stevenson provided vital support to the
- 7 defensive juggernaut of Tyson Chandler, Mr. Marion, and Jason Kidd
- 8 as they turned down the Heat; and
- 9 WHEREAS, The Dallas Mavericks captured the first NBA
- 10 championship trophy in the history of the franchise by relying on
- 11 old-school team play, resourceful strategy, and clutch
- 12 performances; exhibiting selflessness and true camaraderie, they
- 13 won the hearts of their loyal fans throughout the Lone Star State
- 14 and won many new admirers across the country with their inspiring
- 15 performance; now, therefore, be it
- RESOLVED, That the 82nd Legislature of the State of Texas,
- 17 1st Called Session, hereby congratulate the Dallas Mavericks on
- 18 winning the 2011 NBA championship and extend to the players, the
- 19 coaches, the staff, and owner Mark Cuban sincere best wishes for
- 20 continued success; and, be it further
- 21 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 22 prepared for the team as an expression of high regard by the Texas
- 23 House of Representatives and Senate.

Branch Giddings Alonzo Davis of Dallas Button

H.C.R. No. 21

Straus Gonzales of Williamson Morrison Munoz, Jr. Aliseda Gonzalez Gooden Allen Murphy Guillen Alonzo Naishtat Gutierrez Alvarado Nash Hamilton Anchia Oliveira Anderson of Dallas Hancock Orr Anderson of McLennan Hardcastle Otto Aycock Harless Parker Harper-Brown Hartnett Beck Patrick Berman Paxton Hernandez Luna Bohac Pena Bonnen Hilderbran Perry Phillips Branch Hochberg Brown Hopson Pickett Howard of Fort Bend Pitts Burkett Howard of Travis Burnam Price Button Huberty Quintanilla Hughes Raymond Cain Callegari Hunter Reynolds Carter Riddle Isaac Jackson Ritter Castro Chisum Johnson Rodriquez Christian Keffer Schwertner Coleman King of Parker Scott King of Taylor Cook Sheets King of Zavala Craddick Sheffield Creighton Kleinschmidt Shelton Crownover Kolkhorst Simpson Smith of Harris Darby Kuempel Smith of Tarrant Davis of Dallas Landtroop J. Davis of Harris Smithee Larson S. Davis of Harris Laubenberg Solomons Lavender Deshotel Strama Driver Legler Taylor of Collin Taylor of Galveston Dukes Lewis Dutton Lozano Thompson Lucio III Eiland Torres Lyne Eissler Truitt Elkins Madden Turner Farias Mallory Caraway Veasey Villarreal Farrar Margo Marquez Fletcher Vo Walle Flynn Martinez Martinez Fischer Frullo Weber Gallego McClendon White Menendez Woolley Garza Geren Miles Workman Miller of Comal Giddings Zedler Gonzales of Hidalgo Miller of Erath Zerwas

тт	\sim	D	NT o	2.1
H	('	R	NΩ	<i></i>

	H.C.R. NO. 21
President of the Senate	Speaker of the House
I certify that H.C.R. No. 21 wa	s adopted by the House on June
28, 2011, by a non-record vote.	
-	Chief Clerk of the House
I certify that H.C.R. No. 21 was	adopted by the Senate on June
28, 2011, by a viva-voce vote.	
APPROVED:	Secretary of the Senate
Date	
Governor	