By: Branch

H.C.R. No. 21

CONCURRENT RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, The Dallas Mavericks have achieved the pinnacle of 2 success by winning the 2011 NBA championship, clinching the title 3 with a decisive 105-95 victory in Game 6 of the series on June 12; 4 and

5 WHEREAS, In a spectacular demonstration of teamwork, the 6 Mavericks defeated the Miami Heat four games to two; the Dallas 7 squad executed at both ends of the court throughout the finals, 8 neutralizing its highly touted opponents with a savvy, 9 unpredictable defense and lighting up the scoreboard with a 10 versatile offense; and

11 WHEREAS, The deciding game provided a showcase for the Mavs 12 multifaceted attack; guard Jason Terry led the team with 27 points and gave a shooting clinic in the first half with a red-hot 8 for 10 13 run; breaking loose in the fourth quarter, forward Dirk Nowitzki 14 delivered 10 of his 21 points in the final 8 minutes, including the 15 jump shot that sealed the fate of the Heat; guard J. J. Barea 16 contributed 15 points and forward Shawn Marion had 12, while the 17 relentless Mavericks defense shut down key opposing players and 18 forced 17 turnovers that were converted into 19 27 points; 20 Mr. Nowitzki was named the Most Valuable Player of the series after racking up an average of 26 points and 9.7 rebounds per game and 21 finishing off opponents with thrilling displays of fourth-quarter 22 23 dominance; and

24

WHEREAS, Joining an elite group, coach Rick Carlisle, a

1

H.C.R. No. 21

former Boston Celtic guard, became one of only eleven individuals 1 to win an NBA title as both a player and a head coach; he deftly 2 3 adjusted the Dallas game plan after the third game of the series, and his bold decision to alter the lineup was revealed as a 4 5 masterstroke; Mr. Barea caught fire in his new role as a starting guard, and DeShawn Stevenson provided vital support to the 6 defensive juggernaut of Tyson Chandler, Mr. Marion, and Jason Kidd 7 8 as they turned down the Heat; and

9 WHEREAS, The Dallas Mavericks captured the first NBA 10 championship trophy in the history of the franchise by relying on 11 old-school team play, resourceful strategy, clutch and 12 performances; exhibiting selflessness and true camaraderie, they won the hearts of their loyal fans throughout the Lone Star State 13 14 and won many new admirers across the country with their inspiring 15 performance; now, therefore, be it

16 RESOLVED, That the 82nd Legislature of the State of Texas, 17 1st Called Session, hereby congratulate the Dallas Mavericks on 18 winning the 2011 NBA championship and extend to the players, the 19 coaches, the staff, and owner Mark Cuban sincere best wishes for 20 continued success; and, be it further

21 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 22 prepared for the team as an expression of high regard by the Texas 23 House of Representatives and Senate.

2