HOUSE CONCURRENT RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Access to the courts is crucial for individuals 2 seeking justice, such as victims of domestic violence, veterans 3 wrongly denied their benefits, and families improperly evicted from 4 their homes, and the integrity of the civil justice system demands 5 that this access be available to every Texan, regardless of 6 individual financial circumstances; and

7 WHEREAS, Today, some 5.7 million residents of the Lone Star 8 State, including many who are elderly and disabled, qualify for 9 legal aid, yet funding serves less than a fourth of those in need; 10 and

11 WHEREAS, Members of the Texas Supreme Court have strongly 12 advocated for adequate funding to ensure that all citizens have 13 equal access to the civil justice system, and their efforts have 14 increased awareness of the importance of legal aid and the 15 necessity for coordination and support of pro bono work by members 16 of the State Bar of Texas; and

WHEREAS, These endeavors are greatly benefitting innumerable Texans and advancing the cause of justice throughout the Lone Star State; now, therefore, be it

20 RESOLVED, That the 82nd Legislature of the State of Texas, 21 1st Called Session, hereby commend the members of the Texas Supreme 22 Court for their actions in support of legal aid services and honor 23 them for their work in promoting access to justice for the state's 24 most vulnerable citizens; and, be it further

1

1 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 2 prepared for the Texas Supreme Court as an expression of high regard 3 by the Texas House of Representatives and Senate.

> Madden Hartnett Pitts

Straus Aliseda Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson of Dallas Anderson of McLennan Aycock Beck Berman Bohac Bonnen Branch Brown Burkett Burnam Button Cain Callegari Carter Castro Chisum Christian Coleman Cook Craddick Creighton Crownover Darby Davis of Dallas J. Davis of Harris S. Davis of Harris Deshotel Driver Dukes Dutton Eiland Eissler Elkins Farias Farrar Fletcher Flynn Frullo Gallego Garza Geren Giddings Gonzales of Hidalgo

Gonzales of Williamson Morrison Gonzalez Gooden Guillen Gutierrez Hamilton Hancock Hardcastle Harless Harper-Brown Hartnett Hernandez Luna Hilderbran Hochberg Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Howard of Travis Huberty Hughes Hunter Isaac Jackson Johnson Keffer King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kleinschmidt Kolkhorst Kuempel Landtroop Larson Laubenberg Lavender Legler Lewis Lozano Lucio III Lyne Madden Mallory Caraway Marqo Marquez Martinez Martinez Fischer McClendon Menendez Miles Miller of Comal Miller of Erath

Munoz, Jr. Murphy Naishtat Nash Oliveira Orr Otto Parker Patrick Paxton Pena Perry Phillips Pickett Pitts Price Quintanilla Raymond Reynolds Riddle Ritter Rodriquez Schwertner Scott Sheets Sheffield Shelton Simpson Smith of Harris Smith of Tarrant Smithee Solomons Strama Taylor of Collin Taylor of Galveston Thompson Torres Truitt Turner Veasey Villarreal Vo Walle Weber White Woolley Workman Zedler Zerwas

President of the Senate

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.C.R. No. 22 was adopted by the House on June 27, 2011, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House

I certify that H.C.R. No. 22 was adopted by the Senate on June 27, 2011, by a viva-voce vote.

Secretary of the Senate

APPROVED: _____

Date

Governor