H.C.R. No. 26

HOUSE CONCURRENT RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, The baseball team of Brazoswood High School in Clute
- 2 won the University Interscholastic League 5A state championship on
- 3 June 11, 2011, at the Dell Diamond in Round Rock, capping a
- 4 spectacular season and giving its school its third state baseball
- 5 title; and
- 6 WHEREAS, The Buccaneers came to epitomize teamwork,
- 7 dedication, and skill as they finished their year with a 34-8
- 8 record; although they were considered the underdog in games against
- 9 powerhouse teams from Houston Lamar, Houston Memorial, and Klein
- 10 High Schools in postseason competition, they bested both Lamar and
- 11 Memorial without losing a single game and pulled off a dramatic
- 12 come-from-behind win in the state tournament semifinals against
- 13 Klein; they went on to dominate every inning in their 10-3
- 14 championship game against Lubbock Coronado to complete the playoffs
- 15 with 12 straight victories; and
- WHEREAS, Many on the Brazoswood team had played together for
- 17 11 years, always with the dream of making it to the state
- 18 tournament; in a gesture reflecting their determined focus, they
- 19 had written "State 2011" on the inside of their caps to remind them
- 20 daily of their goal; and
- 21 WHEREAS, A group that emphasized solid baseball fundamentals
- 22 and hard work, the Buccaneers benefited from the contributions of
- 23 each individual player, with someone different stepping up to
- 24 deliver a game-changing performance in every contest; and

- 1 WHEREAS, The Brazoswood team was encouraged all season long
- 2 by a tremendous outpouring of community support, with everyone from
- 3 87-year-old grandmothers to excited classmates chanting "We are
- 4 B'Wood" throughout every inning; and
- 5 WHEREAS, Buccaneers who were honored for their fine play in
- 6 the state tournament are William Renner, who earned the Most
- 7 Valuable Player award, and Brandon Bergen, William Easter, Dalton
- 8 Perry, and James Cantu, who were also named to the All-Tournament
- 9 team; and
- 10 WHEREAS, Throughout the season, the Buccaneers received an
- 11 outstanding effort from each member of the roster, which also
- 12 included Eddie Esquivel, Jacob Reed, Jorge Gonzalez, Scott Lapier,
- 13 Colby Alexander, Justin Dellinger, A. J. Angelone, Ethan Stremmel,
- 14 Josh Ward, Blake Jones, Zak Trevino, Bobby Franklin, Evan Hundl,
- 15 John Ermis, Michael Pyeatt, Dominikk Mottu-Branch, Ryan Rios, and
- 16 Trevor Valigura; the players were guided by head coach Bobby
- 17 Williams, who claimed his first state title, assistant coaches Mike
- 18 Cressman and Josh Cathcart, junior varsity coach Chris Nabors,
- 19 sophomore coach David Cowley, and freshman coach Javier Solis;
- 20 vital support was further provided by trainers Lauren DeLaTorre,
- 21 Blake Lapier, Willie Caines, and Bobby Jack Caines, athletic
- 22 director Jesse Crow, and principal Steve Snell; and
- WHEREAS, Achieving such a challenging goal required each of
- 24 the team's talented athletes to perform at the top of his game, and
- 25 this triumph is both a fitting culmination to the Buccaneers' many
- 26 years of hard work and a powerful testament to their unwavering
- 27 resolve and indomitable spirit; in winning the coveted state crown,

H.C.R. No. 26

- 1 these young champions have distinguished themselves as formidable
- 2 competitors and brought recognition and an enormous sense of pride
- 3 to their school, as well as to the Brazosport community and all of
- 4 Brazoria County; now, therefore, be it
- 5 RESOLVED, That the 82nd Legislature of the State of Texas,
- 6 1st Called Session, hereby congratulate the Brazoswood High School
- 7 Buccaneers on winning the 2011 UIL 5A state baseball championship
- 8 and extend sincere best wishes to the players, coaches, and staff
- 9 for continued success; and, be it further
- 10 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 11 prepared for the Brazoswood Buccaneers as an expression of high
- 12 regard by the Texas House of Representatives and Senate.

Bonnen

	n.c.k. No. 20
President of the Senate	Speaker of the House
	26 was adopted by the House on June
27, 2011, by a non-record vote.	
	Chief Clerk of the House
<u>-</u>	26 was adopted by the Senate on June
27, 2011, by a viva-voce vote.	
	Secretary of the Senate
APPROVED:	
Date	
Governor	