H.R. No. 63

RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, Independent businesses and local entrepreneurs
- 2 further the economic well-being of towns all across the Lone Star
- 3 State, and Clemente Garza, Jr., and the staff of the Texas Cafe in
- 4 Rio Grande City are deserving of recognition for their
- 5 contributions to the local community; and
- 6 WHEREAS, The cafe was first opened in 1939 by Mr. Garza's
- 7 father, Clemente Garza, Sr., and uncle, Antonio Salinas; Clemente
- 8 Garza, Jr., went to work in the restaurant at the age of 10 and
- 9 learned the business from the bottom up, beginning as a dishwasher
- 10 and a cook, then waiting tables, and finally handling the cash
- 11 register; he successfully balanced his job with his studies and
- 12 graduated from Rio Grande City High School; in time, he took over as
- 13 the owner of the Texas Cafe; and
- WHEREAS, Mr. Garza takes special pride in his establishment's
- 15 envueltos and chicken-fried steak, and he credits the restaurant's
- 16 employees with making the Texas Cafe what it is today; in all of his
- 17 endeavors, he enjoys the love and support of his wife, Esther, and
- 18 his four children, Rebecca, Clemente, Ricardo, and Joy; and
- 19 WHEREAS, For more than seven decades, the Texas Cafe has
- 20 enriched the lives of residents of Rio Grande City and helped
- 21 bolster the local economy, and it remains a favorite community
- 22 institution; now, therefore, be it
- 23 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 82nd Texas
- 24 Legislature, 1st Called Session, hereby honor Clemente Garza, Jr.,

H.R. No. 63

- 1 and the staff of the Texas Cafe for their hard work and
- 2 entrepreneurial achievements and extend to them sincere best wishes
- 3 for continued success; and, be it further
- 4 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 5 prepared for Mr. Garza and the Texas Cafe staff as an expression of
- 6 high regard by the Texas House of Representatives.

Guillen

H.R. No. 63

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 63 was adopted by the House on June 28, 2011, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House