H.R. No. 64

## RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, Locally owned and operated businesses play a vital
- 2 role in the prosperity of the Lone Star State, and those enterprises
- 3 that build a record of dependability and longevity hold a special
- 4 place of honor in their communities; and
- 5 WHEREAS, A local institution, Elvia's Beauty Shop has served
- 6 residents of Rio Grande City since 1967; the salon was founded by
- 7 Elvia Escobedo, a native of Mexico, who came to the United States in
- 8 1958; she graduated from Rio Grande City High School in 1966 and
- 9 went on to attend beauty school in Pharr; and
- 10 WHEREAS, Elvia's Beauty Shop thrived under her able guidance;
- 11 known for her dedication to her customers, Mrs. Escobedo once
- 12 remained on her feet to finish a client's hair just hours before
- 13 giving birth to her son; and
- WHEREAS, Since Mrs. Escobedo's retirement in 2005, the shop
- 15 has been overseen by her children, Minerva "Endy" Reyna, a graduate
- 16 of Vogue Beauty School, and Jose Alberto Escobedo, a graduate of
- 17 Advanced Barber College; today, the salon's namesake enjoys
- 18 spending more time with her husband, Jose, and her five
- 19 grandchildren; and
- WHEREAS, During the past 44 years, Elvia's Beauty Shop has
- 21 gained a loyal following, and the Escobedo family may take pride in
- 22 the vital role they continue to play in the life of Rio Grande City
- 23 and Starr County; now, therefore, be it
- 24 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 82nd Texas

H.R. No. 64

- 1 Legislature, 1st Called Session, hereby congratulate Elvia
- 2 Escobedo, founder of Elvia's Beauty Shop in Rio Grande City, on her
- 3 achievements as a successful business owner and extend to her
- 4 sincere best wishes for the future; and, be it further
- 5 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 6 prepared for Mrs. Escobedo as an expression of high regard by the
- 7 Texas House of Representatives.

Guillen

Н	NΩ	6/1

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 64 was adopted by the House on June 28, 2011, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House