RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, Lake Travis High School earned the sweepstakes award
- 2 in speech at the 2011 University Interscholastic League Conference
- 3 4A State Academics Spring Meet; and
- 4 WHEREAS, The most comprehensive literary and academic
- 5 competition in the nation, this annual event includes a variety of
- 6 contests that complement the academic curriculum and motivate
- 7 students to acquire higher levels of knowledge, confront issues of
- 8 importance, and think critically; and
- 9 WHEREAS, Thousands of students from across the state
- 10 participate each year in the speech competition, which includes two
- 11 debate contests, two public speaking contests, and two oral
- 12 performance contests; and
- WHEREAS, With the guidance and encouragement of speech
- 14 teacher Barbara Ixba, the LTHS speech team made an outstanding
- 15 showing, with Neal White and Will Hoenig taking first place in
- 16 informative speaking and persuasive speaking, respectively, and
- 17 Alex Pustelnyk earning sixth place in persuasive speaking; and
- WHEREAS, Demonstrating hard work, dedication, and enthusiasm
- 19 for learning, the Lake Travis High School speech team is a source of
- 20 pride to its school and community, and it is indeed a pleasure to
- 21 honor the team for a job well done; now, therefore, be it
- 22 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 82nd Texas
- 23 Legislature, 1st Called Session, hereby congratulate Lake Travis
- 24 High School on its receipt of the sweepstakes award in speech at the

H.R. No. 70

- 1 2011 UIL Conference 4A State Academics Spring Meet and extend to all
- 2 those involved with the LTHS speech team sincere best wishes for
- 3 continued success; and, be it further
- 4 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 5 prepared for Lake Travis High School as an expression of high regard
- 6 by the Texas House of Representatives.

Workman

TT	ח	$N \cap$	70
$\overline{}$	ĸ	I/I ()	, , , ,

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 70 was adopted by the House on June 28, 2011, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House