RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, Neal White of Lake Travis High School earned first
- 2 place in extemporaneous informative speaking at the 2011 University
- 3 Interscholastic League Conference 4A State Academics Spring Meet;
- 4 and
- 5 WHEREAS, The most comprehensive literary and academic
- 6 competition in the nation, this annual event includes a variety of
- 7 contests that complement the academic curriculum and also motivate
- 8 students to acquire higher levels of knowledge, confront issues of
- 9 importance, and think critically; and
- 10 WHEREAS, Specifically, the extemporaneous informative
- 11 speaking contest seeks to stimulate an active interest in current
- 12 affairs at the state, national, and international levels and to
- 13 teach participants to present facts about a subject in a clear,
- 14 impartial, and interesting manner; students prepare for the contest
- 15 by reading newspapers and news magazines, as well as by searching
- 16 the Internet and listening to radio and television news programs,
- 17 and they are judged on their analysis and content, organization,
- 18 and delivery; and
- 19 WHEREAS, With the guidance and encouragement of LTHS speech
- 20 teacher Barbara Ixba, Mr. White distinguished himself as one of the
- 21 state's top students in extemporaneous informative speaking, and he
- 22 may indeed take great pride in his achievement; now, therefore, be
- 23 it
- 24 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 82nd Texas

H.R. No. 78

- 1 Legislature, 1st Called Session, hereby congratulate Neal White on
- 2 earning first place in extemporaneous informative speaking at the
- 3 2011 UIL Conference 4A State Academics Spring Meet and extend to him
- 4 sincere best wishes for continued success; and, be it further
- 5 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 6 prepared for Mr. White as an expression of high regard by the Texas
- 7 House of Representatives.

Workman

\sim
\sim

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 78 was adopted by the House on June 28, 2011, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House