H.R. No. 105

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Rear Admiral Jerry R. Kelley of the United States

Navy is retiring on June 18, 2011, bringing to a close an

3 outstanding 20-year career in the service of this country; and

4 WHEREAS, Admiral Kelley received his medical degree from The

5 University of Texas Medical School at San Antonio in 1976; after

completing his training in general and cardiothoracic surgery in

7 1983, he entered the private practice of medicine in San Antonio;

8 and

2

6

9 WHEREAS, Jerry Kelley joined the navy as a lieutenant

10 commander in 1991; his assignments have included battalion surgeon

11 with the 4th Reconnaissance Battalion, assistant division surgeon

12 with the 4th Marine Division, and S2/3 officer with the 4th Medical

13 Battalion, as well as director of surgery, executive officer, and

14 commanding officer at Fleet Hospital Dallas; in addition, he has

15 served as liaison officer for reserve affairs to the medical

16 officer of the Marine Corps and as assistant chief of staff, Navy

17 Medicine, National Capital Area; currently, he is the deputy

18 medical officer of the Marine Corps--Reserve at Health Affairs

19 Headquarters Marine Corps; and

20 WHEREAS, Admiral Kelley has also handled a number of

21 collateral duties in such posts as specialty advisor to the surgeon

22 general and as consultant/instructor at the United States Army

23 Medical Research Institute of Chemical Defense and the United

24 States Army Medical Research Institute of Infectious Diseases; he

H.R. No. 105

- 1 is a recognized expert in such areas as humanitarian operations,
- 2 domestic preparedness, and chemical-biological casualty
- 3 management, and he is designated as a CATF surgeon, joint task force
- 4 surgeon, and POMI officer; and
- 5 WHEREAS, Among the decorations conferred on Admiral Kelley
- 6 have been the Meritorious Service Medal with two gold stars, the
- 7 Navy Commendation Medal, and the Meritorious Unit Citation; his
- 8 affiliations include the American College of Surgeons, American
- 9 Board of Thoracic Surgery, American College of Chest Physicians,
- 10 and American College of Cardiology; and
- 11 WHEREAS, Throughout his distinguished naval career, Admiral
- 12 Kelley has exemplified the highest ideals of both the medical
- 13 profession and the United States armed forces, and his outstanding
- 14 efforts in this nation's behalf are deserving of his fellow
- 15 citizens' deepest gratitude; now, therefore, be it
- RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 82nd Texas
- 17 Legislature, 1st Called Session, hereby honor Rear Admiral Jerry R.
- 18 Kelley on the occasion of his retirement from the United States Navy
- 19 and extend to him sincere best wishes for continued success in all
- 20 his endeavors; and, be it further
- 21 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 22 prepared for Admiral Kelley as an expression of high regard by the
- 23 Texas House of Representatives.

Miller of Comal

H.R. No. 105

Straus Aliseda Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson of Dallas Anderson of McLennan Aycock Beck Berman Bohac Bonnen Branch Brown Burkett Burnam Button Cain Callegari Carter Castro Chisum Christian Coleman Cook Craddick Creighton Crownover Darby Davis of Dallas J. Davis of Harris S. Davis of Harris Deshotel Driver Dukes Dutton Eiland Eissler Elkins Farias Farrar Fletcher Flynn Frullo Gallego Garza	Gonzales of Williamson Gonzalez Gooden Guillen Gutierrez Hamilton Hancock Hardcastle Harless Harper-Brown Hartnett Hernandez Luna Hilderbran Hochberg Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Howard of Travis Huberty Hughes Hunter Isaac Jackson Johnson Keffer King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kleinschmidt Kolkhorst Kuempel Landtroop Larson Laubenberg Lavender Legler Lewis Lozano Lucio III Lyne Madden Mallory Caraway Margo Marquez Martinez Martinez Martinez Martinez Martinez Martinez Martinez Menendez Milos	Munoz, Jr. Murphy Naishtat Nash Oliveira Orr Otto Parker Patrick Paxton Pena Perry Phillips Pickett Pitts Price Quintanilla Raymond Reynolds Riddle Ritter Rodriguez Schwertner Scott Sheets Sheffield Shelton Simpson Smith of Harris Smith of Tarrant Smithee Solomons Strama Taylor of Collin Taylor of Galveston Thompson Torres Truitt Turner Veasey Villarreal Vo Walle Weber White Woolley
Garza Geren		
Giddings Gonzales of Hidalgo	Miller of Comal Miller of Erath	Zedler Zerwas

		Н	.R.	No.	105
	Speaker	of the	е Но	use	
I certify that H.R. No. 105 was a	adopted by the	House	on	June	14,
by a non-record vote.					

Chief Clerk of the House

2011, by a non-record vote.