H.R. No. 141

RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, Both the men's and women's track and field teams of 2 Texas A&M University won national titles at the NCAA Division I Outdoor Track and Field Championships, and in so doing, became the 3 first school in history to sweep the men's and women's championships 4 5 for three years in a row; and 6 WHEREAS, The dramatic conclusion to the meet, which was held 7 June 8-11, 2011, in Des Moines, Iowa, demonstrated the steely resolve of these exceptional competitors; both squads clinched 8 9 their victories in the final event, the 1,600-meter relay, finishing in first place to edge out their closest competitors; and 10 11 WHEREAS, Other highlights of the meet included second-place
- 13 for Jessica Beard in the 400-meter dash, a silver medal for Jeneba

finishes by both of the Aggie 400-meter relay squads, a gold medal

- 14 Tarmoh in the 200-meter dash, a bronze medal for Sam Humphreys in
- 15 the javelin, and a bronze medal for Julian Reid in the triple jump;
- 16 the A&M athletes also scored points in a variety of other events en
- 17 route to claiming their dual championships; and
- 18 WHEREAS, Each member of the men's and women's squads can take
- 19 pride in their contributions; in addition to Mr. Humphreys and
- 20 Mr. Reid, the men's roster for the NCAA Outdoor Championships
- 21 included Michael Bryan, Wayne Davis II, Melvin Echard, Prezel
- 22 Hardy, Jr., Tabarie Henry, Tran Howell, Bryan Miller, Gerald Phiri,
- 23 Demetrius Pinder, Michael Preble, Joey Roberts, and Tyron Stewart;
- 24 and

12

H.R. No. 141

- 1 WHEREAS, In addition to Ms. Beard and Ms. Tarmoh, the women's
- 2 roster included Laura Asimakis, Ashley Collier, Dominique Duncan,
- 3 Daphne Fitzpatrick, Donique Flemings, Emalie Humphreys, Sasha-Kay
- 4 Matthias, Gabby Mayo, Ibukun Mayungbe, Natasha Ruddock, and Andrea
- 5 Sutherland; and
- 6 WHEREAS, These skilled athletes were under the direction of
- 7 head coach Pat Henry, who now has 33 national titles to his credit;
- 8 additional guidance was provided by assistant coaches Vince
- 9 Anderson, Juan De La Garza, Alleyne Francique, Jim VanHootegem, and
- 10 Dan Waters; and
- 11 WHEREAS, With this unprecedented third consecutive double
- 12 championship, Texas A&M has further distinguished itself as one of
- 13 the premier track and field programs in the nation, and all those
- 14 involved in this outstanding achievement are deserving of special
- 15 recognition; now, therefore, be it
- RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 82nd Texas
- 17 Legislature, 1st Called Session, hereby congratulate the men's and
- 18 women's track and field teams of Texas A&M University on winning
- 19 national titles at the NCAA Division I Outdoor Track and Field
- 20 Championships for the third consecutive year and extend to the
- 21 athletes, coaches, and staff sincere best wishes for continued
- 22 success; and, be it further
- 23 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 24 prepared for the teams as an expression of high regard by the Texas
- 25 House of Representatives.

Dukes Guillen

H.R. No. 141

| Straus Aliseda Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson of Dallas Anderson of McLennan Aycock Beck Berman Bohac Bonnen Branch Brown Burkett Burnam Button Cain Callegari Carter Castro Chisum Christian Coleman Cook Craddick | Gonzales of Williamson Gonzalez Gooden Guillen Gutierrez Hamilton Hancock Hardcastle Harless Harper-Brown Hartnett Hernandez Luna Hilderbran Hochberg Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Howard of Travis Huberty Hughes Hunter Isaac Jackson Johnson Keffer King of Parker King of Zavala | Morrison Munoz, Jr. Murphy Naishtat Nash Oliveira Orr Otto Parker Patrick Paxton Pena Perry Phillips Pickett Pitts Price Quintanilla Raymond Reynolds Riddle Ritter Rodriguez Schwertner Scott Sheets Sheffield |
|--|--|---|
| Darby Davis of Dallas J. Davis of Harris S. Davis of Harris Deshotel | Kuempel Landtroop Larson Laubenberg Lavender | Smith of Harris Smith of Tarrant Smithee Solomons Strama |
| Driver Dukes Dutton Eiland Eissler Elkins Farias Farrar Fletcher Flynn Frullo Gallego Garza Geren | Legler Lewis Lozano Lucio III Lyne Madden Mallory Caraway Margo Marquez Martinez Martinez Fischer McClendon Menendez Miles | Taylor of Collin Taylor of Galveston Thompson Torres Truitt Turner Veasey Villarreal Vo Walle Weber White Woolley Workman |
| Giddings Gonzales of Hidalgo | Miller of Comal Miller of Erath | Zedler Zerwas |

| IJ | .R. | No. | 141 |
|----|------|--------|------------|
| п. | . г. | IN O • | $_{\perp}$ |

| | | | |
|------|--|------|--|
| | | | |
| | | | |

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 141 was adopted by the House on June 20, 2011, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House