By: Dukes

H.R. No. 141

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Both the men's and women's track and field teams of 2 Texas A&M University won national titles at the NCAA Division I 3 Outdoor Track and Field Championships, and in so doing, became the 4 first school in history to sweep the men's and women's championships 5 for three years in a row; and

6 WHEREAS, The dramatic conclusion to the meet, which was held 7 June 8-11, 2011, in Des Moines, Iowa, demonstrated the steely 8 resolve of these exceptional competitors; both squads clinched 9 their victories in the final event, the 1,600-meter relay, 10 finishing in first place to edge out their closest competitors; and

11 WHEREAS, Other highlights of the meet included second-place 12 finishes by both of the Aggie 400-meter relay squads, a gold medal 13 for Jessica Beard in the 400-meter dash, a silver medal for Jeneba 14 Tarmoh in the 200-meter dash, a bronze medal for Sam Humphreys in 15 the javelin, and a bronze medal for Julian Reid in the triple jump; 16 the A&M athletes also scored points in a variety of other events en 17 route to claiming their dual championships; and

WHEREAS, Each member of the men's and women's squads can take pride in their contributions; in addition to Mr. Humphreys and Mr. Reid, the men's roster for the NCAA Outdoor Championships included Michael Bryan, Wayne Davis II, Melvin Echard, Prezel Hardy, Jr., Tabarie Henry, Tran Howell, Bryan Miller, Gerald Phiri, Demetrius Pinder, Michael Preble, Joey Roberts, and Tyron Stewart; and

1

H.R. No. 141

WHEREAS, In addition to Ms. Beard and Ms. Tarmoh, the women's
roster included Laura Asimakis, Ashley Collier, Dominique Duncan,
Daphne Fitzpatrick, Donique Flemings, Emalie Humphreys, Sasha-Kay
Matthias, Gabby Mayo, Ibukun Mayungbe, Natasha Ruddock, and Andrea
Sutherland; and

6 WHEREAS, These skilled athletes were under the direction of 7 head coach Pat Henry, who now has 33 national titles to his credit; 8 additional guidance was provided by assistant coaches Vince 9 Anderson, Juan De La Garza, Alleyne Francique, Jim VanHootegem, and 10 Dan Waters; and

11 WHEREAS, With this unprecedented third consecutive double 12 championship, Texas A&M has further distinguished itself as one of 13 the premier track and field programs in the nation, and all those 14 involved in this outstanding achievement are deserving of special 15 recognition; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 82nd Texas Legislature, 1st Called Session, hereby congratulate the men's and women's track and field teams of Texas A&M University on winning national titles at the NCAA Division I Outdoor Track and Field Championships for the third consecutive year and extend to the athletes, coaches, and staff sincere best wishes for continued success; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be prepared for the teams as an expression of high regard by the Texas House of Representatives.

2