H.R. No. 155

RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, Members of Cornerstone Baptist Church in Terrell are
- 2 celebrating the 30th anniversary of the church's founding on June
- 3 26, 2011; and
- WHEREAS, This house of worship was formed in 1981 with 26
- 5 initial members and was originally known as Cornerstone Bible
- 6 Church; the congregation initially met in the home of a member and
- 7 then rented a local Seventh-Day Adventist church that was available
- 8 on Sundays and Wednesdays; a short time after its founding, the
- 9 church affiliated itself with the Southern Baptist Convention; and
- 10 WHEREAS, In 1986, Cornerstone members purchased land for a
- 11 permanent building of their own, and they held their first service
- 12 in the new church the following year; a Christian Outreach Center
- 13 for evangelism, education, and recreation was built in 1999, and a
- 14 new Worship Center was created in the mid-2000s; and
- WHEREAS, Through the years, the congregation has expanded and
- 16 now includes more than 500 individuals; known for its distinctive
- 17 services that blend traditional hymns with contemporary music, the
- 18 church continues to be led by its founding pastor, Dr. Bob Price;
- 19 and
- 20 WHEREAS, Cornerstone Baptist Church serves as a source of
- 21 spiritual enrichment to those who join in fellowship there, and its
- 22 growth is a tribute to the unwavering commitment of its members;
- 23 now, therefore, be it
- 24 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 82nd Texas

H.R. No. 155

- 1 Legislature, 1st Called Session, hereby commemorate the 30th
- 2 anniversary of the founding of Cornerstone Baptist Church in
- 3 Terrell and extend to the congregation sincere best wishes for the
- 4 future; and, be it further
- 5 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 6 prepared for the church as an expression of high regard by the Texas
- 7 House of Representatives.

Gooden

TT	ח	TAT C	1 5 5
н	ĸ	$N \cap$	ררו

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 155 was adopted by the House on June 28, 2011, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House