H.R. No. 157

RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, Fred Brockwell of Del Rio has been honored with a
 2010 Spotlight Award from the American Association of Community
 Theatre; and

WHEREAS, A former Val Verde County justice of the peace, Mr. Brockwell cofounded The Upstagers troupe in 1977; dedicated to providing residents of Del Rio and Laughlin Air Force Base an opportunity to experience live theater, he secured loans to fund the initiative, and in the early years, he often repaid them with his own money; and

WHEREAS, Under Mr. Brockwell's 10 able leadership, The 11 Upstagers have gone on to achieve notable success; today, each 12 season includes two musicals and three comedies, and donations and ticket sales consistently exceed expenses; the group has also 13 14 earned honors for its productions of The Diary of Adam and Eve, Pump Boys and Dinettes, and Monky Business, and received the Darrell 15 Woolwine/Coy Sharp Award from the Southwest Theatre and Film 16 Association; and 17

WHEREAS, Mr. Brockwell has played an integral role in each performance; in addition to directing and producing many of the shows, he often assists with set dressing, costume design, and any other need that may arise; also a talented actor, he is known for his comedic timing, which shone in his starring role in *The Seven Year Itch*; and

24

WHEREAS, Fred Brockwell has contributed to the artistic and

1

1 cultural vitality of his community, entertaining and delighting his
2 fellow citizens for more than three decades, and he is indeed
3 deserving of this prestigious honor; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 82nd Texas
Legislature, 1st Called Session, hereby congratulate Fred
Brockwell on earning a 2010 Spotlight Award from the American
Association of Community Theatre and extend to him sincere best
wishes for continued success; and, be it further

9 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 10 prepared for Mr. Brockwell as an expression of high regard by the 11 Texas House of Representatives.

Gallego

H.R. No. 157

2

H.R. No. 157

Straus Aliseda Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson of Dallas Anderson of McLennan Aycock Beck Berman Bohac Bonnen Branch Brown Burkett Burnam Button Cain Callegari Carter Castro Chisum Christian Coleman Cook Craddick Creighton Crownover Darby Davis of Dallas J. Davis of Harris S. Davis of Harris Deshotel Driver Dukes Dutton Eiland Eissler Elkins Farias Farrar Fletcher Flynn Frullo Gallego Garza Geren Giddings Gonzales of Hidalgo

Gonzales of Williamson Morrison Gonzalez Gooden Guillen Gutierrez Hamilton Hancock Hardcastle Harless Harper-Brown Hartnett Hernandez Luna Hilderbran Hochberg Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Howard of Travis Huberty Hughes Hunter Isaac Jackson Johnson Keffer King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kleinschmidt Kolkhorst Kuempel Landtroop Larson Laubenberg Lavender Legler Lewis Lozano Lucio III Lyne Madden Mallory Caraway Marqo Marquez Martinez Martinez Fischer McClendon Menendez Miles Miller of Comal Miller of Erath

Munoz, Jr. Murphy Naishtat Nash Oliveira Orr Otto Parker Patrick Paxton Pena Perry Phillips Pickett Pitts Price Quintanilla Raymond Reynolds Riddle Ritter Rodriquez Schwertner Scott Sheets Sheffield Shelton Simpson Smith of Harris Smith of Tarrant Smithee Solomons Strama Taylor of Collin Taylor of Galveston Thompson Torres Truitt Turner Veasey Villarreal Vo Walle Weber White Woolley Workman Zedler Zerwas

H.R. No. 157

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 157 was adopted by the House on June 28, 2011, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House