H.R. No. 166

## RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, The Lone Star State lost a distinguished jurist and
- 2 admired civic leader with the death of the Honorable Frank
- 3 Harrington Crain, who passed away on June 9, 2011, at the age of 90;
- 4 and
- 5 WHEREAS, A native of Victoria, Frank Crain was born on
- 6 January 21, 1921, to Francis Harrington and Corinne Staerker Crain;
- 7 he graduated from Patti Welder High School and went on to attend
- 8 Schreiner Institute and The University of Texas at Austin; and
- 9 WHEREAS, Following the bombing of Pearl Harbor, Mr. Crain
- 10 joined the U.S. Army and served his country with distinction in the
- 11 China-Burma-India and European theaters during World War II;
- 12 commissioned as a second lieutenant, he was awarded a number of
- 13 honors for his dedication to duty, including multiple campaign
- 14 service stars, the Bronze Star and Oak Leaf Cluster, and the Good
- 15 Conduct Medal; and
- 16 WHEREAS, Mr. Crain subsequently returned to The University of
- 17 Texas, graduating with a degree in law; he began his notable legal
- 18 career in Victoria, and after serving his fellow residents in the
- 19 Texas House of Representatives for two years, he was elected to
- 20 serve as Victoria County judge in 1955; and
- 21 WHEREAS, Judge Crain's dedicated work earned him appointment
- 22 to the 135th District Court by Governor Price Daniel in 1959; he
- 23 continued in that position for nearly three decades, resigning from
- 24 the bench in 1988; in the following years, he served with the law

- 1 firm of Cole McManus Cole Easley & Bell; and
- 2 WHEREAS, Active in his community, Judge Crain was president
- 3 of the Sons of the American Revolution and founding president of the
- 4 Gulf Bend Foundation; he further shared his time with the boards of
- 5 CASA, the Victoria Community Theater, the Victoria Youth Home,
- 6 Foster Parents, the Victoria Symphony, the Victoria County
- 7 Courthouse Restoration Committee, and the Victoria College
- 8 Foundation; and
- 9 WHEREAS, Through the years, he was recognized for his
- 10 committed efforts by the Rotary Club, which honored him with the
- 11 Paul Harris Fellowship award, and the South Texas Council of Boy
- 12 Scouts of America, which named him Distinguished Citizen of the
- 13 Year in 2004; and
- 14 WHEREAS, Judge Crain was also a man of faith; he served the
- 15 congregation of Trinity Episcopal Church as a vestryman, a role he
- 16 also held at St. Francis Episcopal Church, where he was a founding
- 17 member and senior warden; in addition, he worked on a number of
- 18 committees for the Episcopal Diocese of West Texas; and
- 19 WHEREAS, In all of his endeavors, Judge Crain was supported
- 20 by his loving family; married for 68 years to Olive Bell Crain, he
- 21 was blessed with four daughters, Katherine, Pamela, Olive, and
- 22 Julie, as well as two grandsons, John and Henry; and
- WHEREAS, Highly regarded for his contributions to Victoria
- 24 County and to the State of Texas, Frank Crain leaves behind a legacy
- 25 of public service that will long be remembered by all who were
- 26 privileged to share in the richness of his life; now, therefore, be
- 27 it

H.R. No. 166

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 82nd Texas 1 Legislature, 1st Called Session, hereby pay tribute to the memory 2 of the Honorable Frank Harrington Crain and extend deepest sympathy to the members of his family: to his wife, Olive Bell Crain; to his daughters, Dr. Pamela Crain, Olive Crain, and Julie Heinitsh and 5 6 her husband, John; to his grandchildren, John and Henry Heinitsh; and to his other relatives and friends; and, be it further 7 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 8 prepared for his family and that when the Texas House of 9 Representatives adjourns this day, it do so in memory of Frank 10

Harrington Crain.

11

Morrison

## H.R. No. 166

Straus Aliseda Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson of Dallas Anderson of McLennan Aycock Beck Berman Bohac Bonnen Branch Brown Burkett Burnam Button Cain Callegari Carter Castro Chisum Christian Coleman Cook Craddick Creighton Crownover Darby Davis of Dallas J. Davis of Harris S. Davis of Harris Deshotel Driver Dukes Dutton Eiland Eissler Elkins Farias Farrar Fletcher Flynn Frullo Gallego Garza	Gonzales of Williamson Gonzalez Gooden Guillen Gutierrez Hamilton Hancock Hardcastle Harless Harper-Brown Hartnett Hernandez Luna Hilderbran Hochberg Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Howard of Travis Huberty Hughes Hunter Isaac Jackson Johnson Keffer King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kleinschmidt Kolkhorst Kuempel Landtroop Larson Laubenberg Lavender Legler Lewis Lozano Lucio III Lyne Madden Mallory Caraway Margo Marquez Martinez Martinez Martinez Martinez Martinez Martinez Martinez Martinez Menendez Milos	Munoz, Jr. Murphy Naishtat Nash Oliveira Orr Otto Parker Patrick Paxton Pena Perry Phillips Pickett Pitts Price Quintanilla Raymond Reynolds Riddle Ritter Rodriguez Schwertner Scott Sheets Sheffield Shelton Simpson Smith of Harris Smith of Tarrant Smithee Solomons Strama Taylor of Collin Taylor of Galveston Thompson Torres Truitt Turner Veasey Villarreal Vo Walle Weber White Woolley
Garza Geren		
Giddings Gonzales of Hidalgo	Miller of Comal Miller of Erath	Zedler Zerwas

	H.R. No. 166
	Speaker of the House
I certify that H.R. No. 166 was	unanimously adopted by a rising
rote of the House on June 28, 2011.	
	Chief Clerk of the House