RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, For more than two decades, Edelmira Sotelo has ably
served the people of House District 74 as district director for the
Del Rio office of State Representative Pete Gallego; and

WHEREAS, Distinguished as the representative's first legislative employee, "Miri" Sotelo has proven herself to be an invaluable member of the team since being hired in 1990; she has also found time to give back to her community as an enthusiastic volunteer; and

9 WHEREAS, Mrs. Sotelo has especially focused her efforts on 10 children, organizing the first citywide holiday toy drive, Ninos 11 Navidenos, in 2006, and chairing the initiative since then, as well 12 as serving in a leadership role with Safe Kids Val Verde County, 13 part of a nationwide network of organizations working to prevent 14 childhood injury; in addition, she has benefited the Quad Counties 15 Council on Alcohol and Drug Abuse; and

16 WHEREAS, A native of Del Rio and a graduate of Del Rio High 17 School, Mrs. Sotelo enjoys the love and support of her husband, 18 Claudio, with whom she has shared more than 55 years; Mrs. Sotelo's 19 life is further enriched by her children, grandchildren, and 20 great-grandchildren; and

21 WHEREAS, Miri Sotelo has earned the respect and admiration of 22 all who know her, and her ongoing work in behalf of her fellow 23 citizens is greatly appreciated; now, therefore, be it

24 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 82nd Texas

1

Legislature, 1st Called Session, hereby honor Edelmira Sotelo for
her 21 years of service in the office of State Representative Pete
Gallego and extend to her sincere best wishes for continued success
and happiness; and, be it further

5 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 6 prepared for Mrs. Sotelo as an expression of high regard by the 7 Texas House of Representatives.

Gallego

Straus Aliseda Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson of Dallas Anderson of McLennan Aycock Beck Berman Bohac Bonnen Branch Brown Burkett Burnam Button Cain Callegari Carter Castro Chisum Christian Coleman Cook Craddick Creighton Crownover Darby Davis of Dallas J. Davis of Harris S. Davis of Harris Deshotel Driver Dukes Dutton Eiland Eissler Elkins Farias Farrar Fletcher Flynn Frullo Gallego Garza Geren Giddings Gonzales of Hidalgo

Gonzales of Williamson Morrison Gonzalez Gooden Guillen Gutierrez Hamilton Hancock Hardcastle Harless Harper-Brown Hartnett Hernandez Luna Hilderbran Hochberg Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Howard of Travis Huberty Hughes Hunter Isaac Jackson Johnson Keffer King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kleinschmidt Kolkhorst Kuempel Landtroop Larson Laubenberg Lavender Legler Lewis Lozano Lucio III Lyne Madden Mallory Caraway Marqo Marquez Martinez Martinez Fischer McClendon Menendez Miles Miller of Comal Miller of Erath

Munoz, Jr. Murphy Naishtat Nash Oliveira Orr Otto Parker Patrick Paxton Pena Perry Phillips Pickett Pitts Price Quintanilla Raymond Reynolds Riddle Ritter Rodriquez Schwertner Scott Sheets Sheffield Shelton Simpson Smith of Harris Smith of Tarrant Smithee Solomons Strama Taylor of Collin Taylor of Galveston Thompson Torres Truitt Turner Veasey Villarreal Vo Walle Weber White Woolley Workman Zedler Zerwas

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 172 was adopted by the House on June 28, 2011, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House