H.R. No. 184

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, The baseball team of Dallas Baptist University put 2 together an exceptional season in 2011, advancing to the super 3 regional round of the NCAA Division I tournament and finishing with 4 a record of 42 wins and 20 losses; and

5 WHEREAS, In just their sixth season as a Division I team, the 6 Patriots excelled through hard-nosed play and a potent offense that 7 averaged more than eight runs per game; one of only two independent 8 teams to become a regional champion, DBU surprised its better-known 9 opponents and showed that it could hold its own against the best 10 teams in the nation; and

11 WHEREAS, The Patriots were especially impressive in the 12 second half of the regular season, winning 21 of 28 games to earn an invitation to the NCAA tournament; in the Fort Worth Regional, they 13 14 bested Oklahoma and Texas Christian University in hard-fought contests before dropping a game to Oral Roberts University; they 15 beat ORU 11 to 9 in the title contest, however, to become the first 16 DBU team to reach the super regionals; there, the season came to an 17 18 end after losses to the University of California, Berkeley; and

WHEREAS, Guided by head coach Dan Heefner, assistant coaches 19 Nate Frieling and Austin Knight, and director of baseball 20 21 operations Clay Kelly, the Patriots benefited from the 22 contributions of the entire team, with Jason Krizan enjoying a 23 particularly notable year; the senior outfielder had a 39-game hitting streak, has been named to several All-American teams, and 24

1

is a finalist for the Dick Howser Trophy, which goes to the top 1 collegiate player in the country; moreover, Mr. Krizan 2 and 3 teammates Brandon Williamson and Chris Haney have been drafted by major league teams; the other members of the Patriot roster are 4 5 Landon Anderson, Patrick Hicks, Austin Elkins, Michael Miller, Tyler Robbins, Duncan McAlpine, Josh Wilson, Joel Hutter, Kenny 6 Hatcher, Caleb Piatt, Logan Moro, Will Lane, Jared Stafford, Boomer 7 8 Collins, Ryan Behmanesh, Logan Brumley, K. J. Alexander, Jake Johansen, Aaron Gilbreath, Stuart Pudenz, Taylor Massey, Michael 9 10 Smith, Joee Reyna, Jordan Staples, and Samuel Henke; and

11 WHEREAS, Demonstrating tremendous talent and dedication, the 12 Dallas Baptist players have worked together to elevate the 13 university's baseball program to a new level of success, and their 14 accomplishments will serve as a source of inspiration for Patriot 15 teams in the years ahead; now, therefore, be it

16 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 82nd Texas 17 Legislature, 1st Called Session, hereby congratulate the Dallas 18 Baptist University baseball team on its outstanding 2011 season and 19 extend to the team's players, coaches, and staff sincere best 20 wishes for continued success; and, be it further

21 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 22 prepared for the team as an expression of high regard by the Texas 23 House of Representatives.

Davis of Dallas

H.R. No. 184

2

H.R. No. 184

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 184 was adopted by the House on June 28, 2011, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House