By: Davis of Dallas

3

13

H.R. No. 184

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, The baseball team of Dallas Baptist University put

2 together an exceptional season in 2011, advancing to the super

regional round of the NCAA Division I tournament and finishing with

4 a record of 42 wins and 20 losses; and

5 WHEREAS, In just their sixth season as a Division I team, the

6 Patriots excelled through hard-nosed play and a potent offense that

7 averaged more than eight runs per game; one of only two independent

8 teams to become a regional champion, DBU surprised its better-known

9 opponents and showed that it could hold its own against the best

10 teams in the nation; and

11 WHEREAS, The Patriots were especially impressive in the

12 second half of the regular season, winning 21 of 28 games to earn an

invitation to the NCAA tournament; in the Fort Worth Regional, they

14 bested Oklahoma and Texas Christian University in hard-fought

15 contests before dropping a game to Oral Roberts University; they

16 beat ORU 11 to 9 in the title contest, however, to become the first

17 DBU team to reach the super regionals; there, the season came to an

18 end after losses to the University of California, Berkeley; and

19 WHEREAS, Guided by head coach Dan Heefner, assistant coaches

20 Nate Frieling and Austin Knight, and director of baseball

21 operations Clay Kelly, the Patriots benefited from the

22 contributions of the entire team, with Jason Krizan enjoying a

23 particularly notable year; the senior outfielder had a 39-game

24 hitting streak, has been named to several All-American teams, and

H.R. No. 184

- 1 is a finalist for the Dick Howser Trophy, which goes to the top
- 2 collegiate player in the country; moreover, Mr. Krizan and
- 3 teammates Brandon Williamson and Chris Haney have been drafted by
- 4 major league teams; the other members of the Patriot roster are
- 5 Landon Anderson, Patrick Hicks, Austin Elkins, Michael Miller,
- 6 Tyler Robbins, Duncan McAlpine, Josh Wilson, Joel Hutter, Kenny
- 7 Hatcher, Caleb Piatt, Logan Moro, Will Lane, Jared Stafford, Boomer
- 8 Collins, Ryan Behmanesh, Logan Brumley, K. J. Alexander, Jake
- 9 Johansen, Aaron Gilbreath, Stuart Pudenz, Taylor Massey, Michael
- 10 Smith, Joee Reyna, Jordan Staples, and Samuel Henke; and
- 11 WHEREAS, Demonstrating tremendous talent and dedication, the
- 12 Dallas Baptist players have worked together to elevate the
- 13 university's baseball program to a new level of success, and their
- 14 accomplishments will serve as a source of inspiration for Patriot
- 15 teams in the years ahead; now, therefore, be it
- RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 82nd Texas
- 17 Legislature, 1st Called Session, hereby congratulate the Dallas
- 18 Baptist University baseball team on its outstanding 2011 season and
- 19 extend to the team's players, coaches, and staff sincere best
- 20 wishes for continued success; and, be it further
- 21 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 22 prepared for the team as an expression of high regard by the Texas
- 23 House of Representatives.