RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Family and friends are mourning the loss of Jesse 2 Robert Woody of Carrollton, who died on June 2, 2011, at the age of 3 87; and

WHEREAS, The son of Robert and Ola Mae Woody, Jesse Woody was 4 born in Mineola on August 12, 1923; he served as a gunner's mate in 5 the United States Navy during World War II and fought in the Pacific 6 theater; after demobilization, he returned home and became the 7 successful proprietor of four Woody's White Auto Store locations as 8 9 well as a number of real estate, investment, aluminum, and granite companies; most of the buildings in downtown Carrollton passed 10 11 through his ownership at one time or another, and he was a partner 12 in the Four Square Building for several years; and

WHEREAS, Mr. Woody was dedicated to his community and possessed natural leadership ability; from 1964 to 1972, he served on the Carrollton City Council, and he was mayor pro tempore for two years; he was a member of the Metrocrest Hospital Authority board for more than two decades and served as chair, and he also sat on the boards of numerous banks; and

WHEREAS, A kind and caring man, Jesse Woody made a positive impact on Carrollton through his civic engagement, and those who were fortunate enough to know him will forever treasure their memories of time spent in his company; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 82nd Texas
Legislature, 1st Called Session, hereby pay tribute to the life of

1

Jesse Robert Woody and extend sincere condolences to the members of 1 his family: to his wife of 65 years, Patsy Woody; to his daughter, 2 Linda Woody; to his son, Paul Woody; to his grandsons, Wade and 3 4 Russell Woody; to his three great-grandchildren; to his sisters, Betty Roberts, Imogene James and her husband, Phil, and Loretta 5 Payne and her husband, Roy; to his brothers, Homer Shockey and his 6 wife, Mary, and Darrell Shockey and his wife, Flo; and, be it 7 further 8

9 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 10 prepared for his family and that when the Texas House of 11 Representatives adjourns this day, it do so in memory of Jesse 12 Robert Woody.

Jackson

Straus Aliseda Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson of Dallas Anderson of McLennan Aycock Beck Berman Bohac Bonnen Branch Brown Burkett Burnam Button Cain Callegari Carter Castro Chisum Christian Coleman Cook Craddick Creighton Crownover Darby Davis of Dallas J. Davis of Harris S. Davis of Harris Deshotel Driver Dukes Dutton Eiland Eissler Elkins Farias Farrar Fletcher Flynn Frullo Gallego Garza Geren Giddings Gonzales of Hidalgo

Gonzales of Williamson Morrison Gonzalez Gooden Guillen Gutierrez Hamilton Hancock Hardcastle Harless Harper-Brown Hartnett Hernandez Luna Hilderbran Hochberg Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Howard of Travis Huberty Hughes Hunter Isaac Jackson Johnson Keffer King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kleinschmidt Kolkhorst Kuempel Landtroop Larson Laubenberg Lavender Legler Lewis Lozano Lucio III Lyne Madden Mallory Caraway Marqo Marquez Martinez Martinez Fischer McClendon Menendez Miles Miller of Comal Miller of Erath

Munoz, Jr. Murphy Naishtat Nash Oliveira Orr Otto Parker Patrick Paxton Pena Perry Phillips Pickett Pitts Price Quintanilla Raymond Reynolds Riddle Ritter Rodriquez Schwertner Scott Sheets Sheffield Shelton Simpson Smith of Harris Smith of Tarrant Smithee Solomons Strama Taylor of Collin Taylor of Galveston Thompson Torres Truitt Turner Veasey Villarreal Vo Walle Weber White Woolley Workman Zedler Zerwas

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 202 was unanimously adopted by a rising vote of the House on June 28, 2011.

Chief Clerk of the House