H.R. No. 203

## RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, The outstanding work Kiki Luna has performed as the 2 director of Safe Kids Val Verde County was recognized on June 15, 2011, when she was presented with the J. C. Montgomery, Jr., Child 3 Safety Award from the Texas Office for Prevention of Developmental 4 5 Disabilities; and WHEREAS, Ms. Luna's leadership has contributed greatly to the 6 7 Safe Kids mission of preventing unintentional childhood injuries, which are the leading cause of death and disability for children 8 between the ages of 1 and 14; headquartered at Val Verde Regional 9 Medical Center and affiliated with Safe Kids USA and Safe Kids 10 11 Worldwide, the local organization seeks to educate families on the 12 subject, to advocate for improved safety laws, and to provide greater access to lifesaving devices such as bicycle helmets and 13 14 smoke alarms; and WHEREAS, Collaborating with her staff and volunteers, 15 Ms. Luna has organized a range of beneficial programs, including

Ms. Luna has organized a range of beneficial programs, including swim classes, child car seat checkups, and bicycle safety rodeos; moreover, she has forged strong ties among law enforcement agencies, business and health leaders, and youth organizations to help achieve a unified community focus on this vital issue; and

21 WHEREAS, Kiki Luna's dedicated efforts are helping to ensure 22 the well-being of the young people of Val Verde County, and she is 23 indeed deserving of this prestigious honor; now, therefore, be it 24 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 82nd Texas

H.R. No. 203

- 1 Legislature, 1st Called Session, hereby congratulate Kiki Luna on
- 2 her receipt of the J. C. Montgomery, Jr., Child Safety Award from
- 3 the Texas Office for Prevention of Developmental Disabilities and
- 4 extend to her sincere best wishes for continued success with her
- 5 important work; and, be it further
- 6 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 7 prepared for Ms. Luna as an expression of high regard by the Texas
- 8 House of Representatives.

Gallego

## H.R. No. 203

Straus Aliseda Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson of Dallas Anderson of McLennan Aycock Beck Berman Bohac Bonnen Branch Brown Burkett Burnam Button Cain Callegari Carter Castro Chisum Christian Coleman Cook Craddick Creighton Crownover Darby Davis of Dallas J. Davis of Harris S. Davis of Harris Deshotel Driver Dukes Dutton Eiland Eissler Elkins Farias Farrar Fletcher Flynn Frullo Gallego Garza	Gonzales of Williamson Gonzalez Gooden Guillen Gutierrez Hamilton Hancock Hardcastle Harless Harper-Brown Hartnett Hernandez Luna Hilderbran Hochberg Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Howard of Travis Huberty Hughes Hunter Isaac Jackson Johnson Keffer King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kleinschmidt Kolkhorst Kuempel Landtroop Larson Laubenberg Lavender Legler Lewis Lozano Lucio III Lyne Madden Mallory Caraway Margo Marquez Martinez Martinez Martinez Martinez Martinez Martinez Martinez Martinez Menendez Milos	Munoz, Jr. Murphy Naishtat Nash Oliveira Orr Otto Parker Patrick Paxton Pena Perry Phillips Pickett Pitts Price Quintanilla Raymond Reynolds Riddle Ritter Rodriguez Schwertner Scott Sheets Sheffield Shelton Simpson Smith of Harris Smith of Tarrant Smithee Solomons Strama Taylor of Collin Taylor of Galveston Thompson Torres Truitt Turner Veasey Villarreal Vo Walle Weber White Woolley
Garza Geren		
Giddings Gonzales of Hidalgo	Miller of Comal Miller of Erath	Zedler Zerwas

		H.R.	No.	203
	Speaker	of the Ho	use	
I certify that H.R. No. 203 was	adopted by the	House on	June	28,
oy a non-record vote.				

Chief Clerk of the House

2011, by a non-record vote.