## RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, United States Air Force Colonel Michael R. Frankel, 2 commander of the 47th Flying Training Wing at Laughlin Air Force 3 Base, has long rendered exceptional service to this country; and 4 WHEREAS, In his present assignment, Colonel Frankel is responsible for undergraduate flight training for United States Air 5 Force and allied officers; he commands a wing that operates 238 6 training aircraft and that logs more than 80,000 flying hours and 7 55,000 sorties a year; Colonel Frankel is also responsible for 8 ensuring that all the units under his command are able to deploy in 9 support of combat operations worldwide; and 10 11 WHEREAS, An alumnus of the United States Merchant Marine 12 Academy, Mike Frankel was commissioned into the air force in 1988; he graduated with distinction from the USAF Weapons School in 1996, 13 14 attended the Air Command and Staff College in 2000, and holds master's degrees in military operational art and science from Air 15 16 University and in national security strategy from the National War College; and 17 WHEREAS, Colonel Frankel previously served as commander of 18 the 12th Fighter Squadron at Elmendorf Air Force Base from 2005 to 19 20 2006; during that time, his squadron won the Hughes Trophy, the most 21 prestigious air force award bestowed on an air fighter defense squadron, and claimed the William Tell championship, the title 22 23 given to the winner of the USAF biennial fighter gunnery

24

competition; and

- 1 WHEREAS, After attending the National War College in 2007,
- 2 Colonel Frankel served as executive officer to the commander,
- 3 Allied Air Component Command, Headquarters, Izmir, Turkey, from
- 4 2007 to 2008, as division chief in the Deputy Directorate for
- 5 Special Operations, Joint Staff, from 2008 to 2009, and as vice
- 6 commander of the 12th Flying Training Wing at Randolph Air Force
- 7 Base from 2009 to 2010; and
- 8 WHEREAS, Rated as a command pilot, Colonel Frankel has
- 9 amassed 2,400 flight hours and more than 250 combat hours; he was
- 10 the youngest F-15C pilot to deploy with the 27th Tactical Fighter
- 11 Squadron for service in Operations Desert Shield/Desert Storm; in
- 12 addition to the F-15C, he is qualified to fly the T-37 and T-38; and
- 13 WHEREAS, Among the numerous awards conferred on Colonel
- 14 Frankel have been the Defense Superior Service Medal, Defense
- 15 Meritorious Service Medal, Meritorious Service Medal with four oak
- 16 leaf clusters, Air Medal with three oak leaf clusters, Aerial
- 17 Achievement Medal with four oak leaf clusters, Commendation Medal
- 18 with four oak leaf clusters, and Combat Readiness Medal with three
- 19 oak leaf clusters; and
- 20 WHEREAS, Throughout a career distinguished by decisive
- 21 leadership and consummate professionalism, Colonel Frankel has set
- 22 the highest standards of excellence in the execution of his duties,
- 23 and he has earned the gratitude of every Texan; now, therefore, be
- 24 it
- 25 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 82nd Texas
- 26 Legislature, 1st Called Session, hereby commend Colonel Michael R.
- 27 Frankel for his outstanding military service and extend to him

- 1 sincere best wishes for continued success in all his endeavors;
- 2 and, be it further
- 3 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 4 prepared for Colonel Frankel as an expression of high regard by the
- 5 Texas House of Representatives.

Gallego

Straus Aliseda Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson of Dallas Anderson of McLennan Aycock Beck Berman Bohac Bonnen Branch Brown Burkett Burnam Button Cain Callegari Carter Castro Chisum Christian Coleman Cook Craddick Creighton Crownover Darby Davis of Dallas J. Davis of Harris S. Davis of Harris Deshotel Driver Dukes Dutton Eiland Eissler Elkins Farias Farrar Fletcher Flynn Frullo Gallego Garza	Gonzales of Williamson Gonzalez Gooden Guillen Gutierrez Hamilton Hancock Hardcastle Harless Harper-Brown Hartnett Hernandez Luna Hilderbran Hochberg Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Howard of Travis Huberty Hughes Hunter Isaac Jackson Johnson Keffer King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kleinschmidt Kolkhorst Kuempel Landtroop Larson Laubenberg Lavender Legler Lewis Lozano Lucio III Lyne Madden Mallory Caraway Margo Marquez Martinez Martinez Martinez Martinez Martinez Martinez Martinez Martinez Menendez Milos	Munoz, Jr. Murphy Naishtat Nash Oliveira Orr Otto Parker Patrick Paxton Pena Perry Phillips Pickett Pitts Price Quintanilla Raymond Reynolds Riddle Ritter Rodriguez Schwertner Scott Sheets Sheffield Shelton Simpson Smith of Harris Smith of Tarrant Smithee Solomons Strama Taylor of Collin Taylor of Galveston Thompson Torres Truitt Turner Veasey Villarreal Vo Walle Weber White Woolley
Garza Geren		
Giddings Gonzales of Hidalgo	Miller of Comal Miller of Erath	Zedler Zerwas

		H.R.	No.	205
	Speaker	of the Ho	use	
I certify that H.R. No. 205 was	adopted by the	House on	June	28,
by a non-record vote.				

Chief Clerk of the House

2011, by a non-record vote.