H.R. No. 245

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Residents of Pampa lost a beloved longtime resident 2 and admired civic leader with the death of E. E. "Shelly" Shelhamer 3 on June 26, 2011, at the age of 98; and

WHEREAS, Born on August 3, 1912, in Sumner County, Kansas, Mr. Shelhamer graduated from Winfield High School and went on to attend Southwestern College in Winfield, then settled in Pampa in 1936; he served his country as a member of the U.S. Army Signal Corps during World War II, earning the rank of staff sergeant; and

9 WHEREAS, Mr. Shelhamer had a distinguished 25-year career 10 with Beacon Supply, holding the positions of secretary and 11 treasurer before becoming a partner; following his retirement from 12 the business in 1961, he worked as an agent with Southwestern Life 13 Insurance; and

14 WHEREAS, Dedicated to the betterment of his community, Mr. Shelhamer had been a member and president of the Pampa ISD board of 15 16 trustees, a member of the Pampa Senior Citizens Center board for more than 30 years, a member of the Adobe Walls Council of Boy 17 Scouts of America, and a member and president of the Pampa Chamber 18 of Commerce; in addition, he was a past president of and active in 19 20 the Rotary Club, which made him a Paul Harris Fellow in 2008; he was 21 also a member of the First Baptist Church, where he was a deacon and secretary of the Everyman's Bible Class; and 22

23 WHEREAS, In all of his endeavors, Mr. Shelhamer was blessed 24 with the support of his wife, Lois; they lovingly raised three

1

children, Gene, Jim, and Pam, and his treasured family eventually
grew to include 10 grandchildren and 11 great-grandchildren; and

3 WHEREAS, Though it is impossible to gauge the full effect of a 4 man's life, some individuals leave their unmistakable mark on the 5 world as they move through it, and Shelly Shelhamer leaves behind a 6 legacy that will long be treasured by all those who held him dear; 7 now, therefore, be it

8 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 82nd Texas Legislature, 1st Called Session, hereby pay tribute to the memory 9 10 of E. E. "Shelly" Shelhamer and extend deepest sympathy to the members of his family: to his wife, Lois Shelhamer; to his sons, Dr. 11 12 Gene Shelhamer and his wife, Carolyn, and Dr. Jim Shelhamer and his wife, Ruth; to his daughter, Pam Grant; to his grandchildren, Dee 13 14 Howard, Melissa Burns, Lori Patterson, Melanie Willis, Alan 15 Shelhamer, Kristi Muehlstein, Claire Neill, and Lindsay, Ian, and Joel Grant; to his great-grandchildren, Matt and Sara Howard, 16 17 Lahne, Lauren, and Lance Burns, Lindy and Laney Patterson, Amelia and Gracie Shelhamer, Vera Mae Foster, and Olivia Rae Grant; and to 18 19 his other relatives and friends; and, be it further

20 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 21 prepared for his family and that when the Texas House of 22 Representatives adjourns this day, it do so in memory of E. E. 23 "Shelly" Shelhamer.

Chisum

H.R. No. 245

2

H.R. No. 245

Straus Aliseda Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson of Dallas Anderson of McLennan Aycock Beck Berman Bohac Bonnen Branch Brown Burkett Burnam Button Cain Callegari Carter Castro Chisum Christian Coleman Cook Craddick Creighton Crownover Darby Davis of Dallas J. Davis of Harris S. Davis of Harris Deshotel Driver Dukes Dutton Eiland Eissler Elkins Farias Farrar Fletcher Flynn Frullo Gallego Garza Geren Giddings Gonzales of Hidalgo

Gonzales of Williamson Morrison Gonzalez Gooden Guillen Gutierrez Hamilton Hancock Hardcastle Harless Harper-Brown Hartnett Hernandez Luna Hilderbran Hochberg Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Howard of Travis Huberty Hughes Hunter Isaac Jackson Johnson Keffer King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kleinschmidt Kolkhorst Kuempel Landtroop Larson Laubenberg Lavender Legler Lewis Lozano Lucio III Lyne Madden Mallory Caraway Marqo Marquez Martinez Martinez Fischer McClendon Menendez Miles Miller of Comal Miller of Erath

Munoz, Jr. Murphy Naishtat Nash Oliveira Orr Otto Parker Patrick Paxton Pena Perry Phillips Pickett Pitts Price Quintanilla Raymond Reynolds Riddle Ritter Rodriquez Schwertner Scott Sheets Sheffield Shelton Simpson Smith of Harris Smith of Tarrant Smithee Solomons Strama Taylor of Collin Taylor of Galveston Thompson Torres Truitt Turner Veasey Villarreal Vo Walle Weber White Woolley Workman Zedler Zerwas

H.R. No. 245

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 245 was unanimously adopted by a rising vote of the House on June 28, 2011.

Chief Clerk of the House