H.R. No. 248

RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, Emma Jewel Johnson retired as a teacher from the San
- 2 Antonio Independent School District on May 31, 2011, concluding an
- 3 exemplary career in education that spanned 35 years; and
- 4 WHEREAS, Ms. Johnson taught at Camelot Elementary School in
- 5 the North East Independent School District for 15 years before
- 6 joining San Antonio ISD in 1991; she subsequently served at Dorie
- 7 Miller Academy and W. W. White Elementary School; and
- 8 WHEREAS, Respected and admired by her colleagues, Ms. Johnson
- 9 was recognized with the Distinguished Educator's Pin from North
- 10 East ISD in 1990 and the Distinguished Service Award from the San
- 11 Antonio ISD Board of Education in 2011; and
- 12 WHEREAS, Ms. Johnson is a cum laude graduate of the
- 13 University of the Incarnate Word, where she earned both bachelor's
- 14 and master's degrees; in all of her endeavors, she enjoys the love
- 15 and support of her husband, William B. Johnson, Sr., and their
- 16 children, William B. Johnson II and his wife, Cecilia, and Sonya
- 17 D. Johnson; moreover, she takes great pride in her five
- 18 grandchildren and two great-grandchildren; and
- 19 WHEREAS, Emma Jewel Johnson demonstrated an unwavering
- 20 commitment to her students, and her hard work and dedication made a
- 21 positive difference in the lives of countless young Texans; now,
- 22 therefore, be it
- 23 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 82nd Texas
- 24 Legislature, 1st Called Session, hereby congratulate Emma Jewel

H.R. No. 248

- 1 Johnson on her retirement from the San Antonio Independent School
- 2 District and extend to her sincere best wishes for continued
- 3 happiness; and, be it further
- 4 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 5 prepared for Ms. Johnson as an expression of high regard by the
- 6 Texas House of Representatives.

McClendon

TT	-	7. T	248
	-	NO	7/19

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 248 was adopted by the House on June 28, 2011, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House