H.R. No. 269

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, The basketball team of Dallas Baptist University 2 brought the 2010-2011 season to a triumphant close by winning the 3 National Christian College Athletic Association Division I 4 national championship with a victory in the title game on March 19, 5 2011; and

6 WHEREAS, After posting a record of 20 wins and 12 losses in 7 the regular season, DBU made an impressive run through the NCCAA tournament, beginning with three victories in regional competition 8 9 to earn a trip to the championships at Oakland City University in Indiana; there, the Patriots knocked off the host team and then 10 11 Roberts Wesleyan 107-104 in an unforgettable topped 12 triple-overtime game; in the final, the Dallas Baptist players dominated Spring Arbor University 78-64 to bring home the 13 14 university's first national title; and

WHEREAS, Three team members earned prestigious honors for 15 16 their performances during the year; sophomore Nick Fox was voted the Most Valuable Player of the championship tournament and was an 17 18 NCCAA Second Team All-American as well as garnering First Team All-Conference and Newcomer of the Year awards from the Heartland 19 20 Conference; senior Braxton Adamson, who became the all-time leading 21 scorer for DBU during the 2010-2011 season, was named to the 22 All-Tournament Team and the All-Heartland Conference Second Team and was an NCCAA All-American Honorable Mention recipient; in 23 24 addition, he was presented with several accolades as a result of his

1

H.R. No. 269

1 academic excellence, including the Pete Maravich Memorial Award; 2 the other member of the team to receive an All-Heartland Conference 3 recognition was junior Jordan McGowan, who was an Honorable Mention 4 selection; and

5 WHEREAS, The Patriots also benefited from vital contributions from the other members of the squad: T. J. Clark, 6 Armie Lewis, Michael Andrews, Jared Whitmire, Jake Martin, Ishmael 7 8 Awange, Ryan Marsh, Ian Reutelhuber, Russ Johnson, and Hunter Gilbert; the athletes were guided by head coach Blake Flickner and 9 10 assistant coach Brandon Curran; and

WHEREAS, In claiming the NCCAA title, the Dallas Baptist University players realized a notable goal that reflects their exceptional teamwork and dedication, and their achievement is a source of pride to their many fans in North Texas; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 82nd Texas Legislature, 1st Called Session, hereby congratulate the Dallas Baptist University basketball team on winning the 2010-2011 National Christian College Athletic Association Division I national championship and extend to the team's players, coaches, and staff sincere best wishes for continued success; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be prepared for the team as an expression of high regard by the Texas House of Representatives.

Davis of Dallas

2

H.R. No. 269

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 269 was adopted by the House on June 28, 2011, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House