By: Davis of Dallas

H.R. No. 269

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, The basketball team of Dallas Baptist University 2 brought the 2010-2011 season to a triumphant close by winning the

3 National Christian College Athletic Association Division I

4 national championship with a victory in the title game on March 19,

5 2011; and

6 WHEREAS, After posting a record of 20 wins and 12 losses in

7 the regular season, DBU made an impressive run through the NCCAA

8 tournament, beginning with three victories in regional competition

9 to earn a trip to the championships at Oakland City University in

10 Indiana; there, the Patriots knocked off the host team and then

11 topped Roberts Wesleyan 107-104 in an unforgettable

12 triple-overtime game; in the final, the Dallas Baptist players

13 dominated Spring Arbor University 78-64 to bring home the

14 university's first national title; and

WHEREAS, Three team members earned prestigious honors for

16 their performances during the year; sophomore Nick Fox was voted

17 the Most Valuable Player of the championship tournament and was an

18 NCCAA Second Team All-American as well as garnering First Team

19 All-Conference and Newcomer of the Year awards from the Heartland

20 Conference; senior Braxton Adamson, who became the all-time leading

21 scorer for DBU during the 2010-2011 season, was named to the

22 All-Tournament Team and the All-Heartland Conference Second Team

23 and was an NCCAA All-American Honorable Mention recipient; in

24 addition, he was presented with several accolades as a result of his

H.R. No. 269

- 1 academic excellence, including the Pete Maravich Memorial Award;
- 2 the other member of the team to receive an All-Heartland Conference
- 3 recognition was junior Jordan McGowan, who was an Honorable Mention
- 4 selection; and
- 5 WHEREAS, The Patriots also benefited from vital
- 6 contributions from the other members of the squad: T. J. Clark,
- 7 Armie Lewis, Michael Andrews, Jared Whitmire, Jake Martin, Ishmael
- 8 Awange, Ryan Marsh, Ian Reutelhuber, Russ Johnson, and Hunter
- 9 Gilbert; the athletes were guided by head coach Blake Flickner and
- 10 assistant coach Brandon Curran; and
- 11 WHEREAS, In claiming the NCCAA title, the Dallas Baptist
- 12 University players realized a notable goal that reflects their
- 13 exceptional teamwork and dedication, and their achievement is a
- 14 source of pride to their many fans in North Texas; now, therefore,
- 15 be it
- RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 82nd Texas
- 17 Legislature, 1st Called Session, hereby congratulate the Dallas
- 18 Baptist University basketball team on winning the 2010-2011
- 19 National Christian College Athletic Association Division I
- 20 national championship and extend to the team's players, coaches,
- 21 and staff sincere best wishes for continued success; and, be it
- 22 further
- 23 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 24 prepared for the team as an expression of high regard by the Texas
- 25 House of Representatives.