H.R. No. 271

## RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, A full and productive life drew to a close with the 2 passing of Joseph Patrick Cassidy of Panhandle on May 23, 2011, at 3 the age of 81; and

WHEREAS, The son of Pat and Mildred Cassidy, Joe Cassidy was 4 5 born in Napavine, Washington, on February 28, 1930; he graduated as valedictorian of his high school class and served his country in the 6 United States Air Force; he married Ann Margaret Cassidy on 7 September 17, 1955, and worked full-time to support his family 8 while earning his bachelor's degree in physics at West Texas State 9 University; the proud father of three children, Susan, John, and 10 11 Jay, he eventually knew the joy of welcoming six grandchildren into 12 his family; after the death of Ann Cassidy, he was fortunate enough to find love a second time with Lei Shuang Cassidy; and 13

WHEREAS, In his professional life, Mr. Cassidy was employed for 34 years as a scientist at the Pantex Plant, the nation's only nuclear weapons assembly and disassembly facility, and he became head of the testing and x-ray departments and chemistry lab; in addition, he owned and operated a farm and several businesses, including Cassidy Rentals and Cassidy Insulation, and he and his sons were co-owners of a self-storage company, TriCas, Inc.; and

21 WHEREAS, Mr. Cassidy served as president of the PTA, and he 22 taught Sunday school at the First United Methodist Church of 23 Panhandle for more than 20 years; with the help of his children, he 24 built both the family home and a lake house at the Greenbelt

1

Reservoir near Clarendon; he enjoyed reading, history, and travel,
and he had an appreciation for classic cars, such as his black 1941
Cadillac; and

WHEREAS, Although Joe Cassidy will be deeply missed, cherished memories of time spent in his company will long endure in the hearts of his loved ones; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 82nd Texas 7 8 Legislature, 1st Called Session, hereby pay tribute to the life of Joseph Patrick Cassidy and extend sincere condolences to the 9 members of his family: to his wife, Lei Shuang Cassidy; to his sons, 10 John Cassidy and Jay Cassidy and his wife, Alison; to his 11 grandchildren, Cassie Daniel and Rachel, Andrew, Ryan, Hunter, and 12 Kaitlyn Cassidy; to his nephew, Mike Cassidy; and to his other 13 14 relatives and friends; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be prepared for his family and that when the Texas House of Representatives adjourns this day, it do so in memory of Joseph Patrick Cassidy.

Cain

H.R. No. 271

2

H.R. No. 271

Straus Aliseda Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson of Dallas Anderson of McLennan Aycock Beck Berman Bohac Bonnen Branch Brown Burkett Burnam Button Cain Callegari Carter Castro Chisum Christian Coleman Cook Craddick Creighton Crownover Darby Davis of Dallas J. Davis of Harris S. Davis of Harris Deshotel Driver Dukes Dutton Eiland Eissler Elkins Farias Farrar Fletcher Flynn Frullo Gallego Garza Geren Giddings Gonzales of Hidalgo

Gonzales of Williamson Morrison Gonzalez Gooden Guillen Gutierrez Hamilton Hancock Hardcastle Harless Harper-Brown Hartnett Hernandez Luna Hilderbran Hochberg Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Howard of Travis Huberty Hughes Hunter Isaac Jackson Johnson Keffer King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kleinschmidt Kolkhorst Kuempel Landtroop Larson Laubenberg Lavender Legler Lewis Lozano Lucio III Lyne Madden Mallory Caraway Marqo Marquez Martinez Martinez Fischer McClendon Menendez Miles Miller of Comal Miller of Erath

Munoz, Jr. Murphy Naishtat Nash Oliveira Orr Otto Parker Patrick Paxton Pena Perry Phillips Pickett Pitts Price Quintanilla Raymond Reynolds Riddle Ritter Rodriquez Schwertner Scott Sheets Sheffield Shelton Simpson Smith of Harris Smith of Tarrant Smithee Solomons Strama Taylor of Collin Taylor of Galveston Thompson Torres Truitt Turner Veasey Villarreal Vo Walle Weber White Woolley Workman Zedler Zerwas

H.R. No. 271

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 271 was unanimously adopted by a rising vote of the House on June 28, 2011.

Chief Clerk of the House