H.R. No. 278

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Dr. Ismael Sosa, Jr., has distinguished himself as

2 president of Southwest Texas Junior College, and it is indeed

3 fitting to recognize his outstanding service; and

WHEREAS, Under the skilled leadership of Dr. Sosa, Southwest

5 Texas Junior College has been ranked among the top 120 community

6 colleges in the nation by the Aspen Institute; the Aspen College

7 Excellence Program analyzed publicly available data from

8 approximately 1,200 colleges in the U.S. and focused on completion,

9 which includes graduation and transfer to four-year colleges, as

10 well as such criteria as improvement over time and outcomes for

11 disadvantaged students; SWTJC was one of only 9 community colleges

12 in the state that were considered to be among the top 10 percent in

13 the country, and the selection of the Uvalde school is a testament

14 to the exceptional results achieved under the guidance of Dr. Sosa;

15 and

16 WHEREAS, In addition, the Uvalde Area Chamber of Commerce

17 named Dr. Sosa its 2011 Uvaldean of the Year at its annual banquet

18 in February; this prestigious accolade reflects the high esteem in

19 which Dr. Sosa is held by his fellow residents and the importance of

20 the role he plays in the local community; and

21 WHEREAS, Through his commitment to excellence and his

22 dedication to the students at SWTJC as well as to the citizens of

23 Uvalde, Dr. Ismael Sosa has set an inspiring example of leadership

24 and civic engagement, and he has earned the lasting respect and

H.R. No. 278

- 1 admiration of all who know him; now, therefore, be it
- 2 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 82nd Texas
- 3 Legislature, 1st Called Session, hereby honor Dr. Ismael Sosa, Jr.,
- 4 for his achievements as president of Southwest Texas Junior College
- 5 and extend to him sincere best wishes for continued success; and, be
- 6 it further
- 7 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 8 prepared for Dr. Sosa as an expression of high regard by the Texas
- 9 House of Representatives.

Gallego

H.R. No. 278

Straus Aliseda Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson of Dallas Anderson of McLennan Aycock Beck Berman Bohac Bonnen Branch Brown Burkett Burnam Button Cain Callegari Carter Castro Chisum Christian Coleman Cook Craddick Creighton Crownover Darby Davis of Dallas J. Davis of Harris S. Davis of Harris Deshotel Driver Dukes Dutton Eiland Eissler Elkins Farias Farrar Fletcher Flynn Frullo Gallego Garza	Gonzales of Williamson Gonzalez Gooden Guillen Gutierrez Hamilton Hancock Hardcastle Harless Harper-Brown Hartnett Hernandez Luna Hilderbran Hochberg Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Howard of Travis Huberty Hughes Hunter Isaac Jackson Johnson Keffer King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kleinschmidt Kolkhorst Kuempel Landtroop Larson Laubenberg Lavender Legler Lewis Lozano Lucio III Lyne Madden Mallory Caraway Margo Marquez Martinez Martinez Martinez Martinez Martinez Martinez Martinez Martinez Menendez Milos	Munoz, Jr. Murphy Naishtat Nash Oliveira Orr Otto Parker Patrick Paxton Pena Perry Phillips Pickett Pitts Price Quintanilla Raymond Reynolds Riddle Ritter Rodriguez Schwertner Scott Sheets Sheffield Shelton Simpson Smith of Harris Smith of Tarrant Smithee Solomons Strama Taylor of Collin Taylor of Galveston Thompson Torres Truitt Turner Veasey Villarreal Vo Walle Weber White Woolley
Garza Geren		
Giddings Gonzales of Hidalgo	Miller of Comal Miller of Erath	Zedler Zerwas

		H.R.	No.	278
	Speaker	of the Ho	use	
I certify that H.R. No. 278 was	adopted by the	House on	June	28,
oy a non-record vote.				

Chief Clerk of the House

2011, by a non-record vote.