H.R. No. 281

## RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, For 55 years, the Irving Art Association has 2 fostered a greater appreciation for the visual arts among area 3 residents through a variety of memorable offerings; and

WHEREAS, This notable cultural resource was established in January 1956 by seven artists, Edna Ganser, Edith Sinnett, Lil Cartright, Liz Stricklin, Pat Bishop, Jeanne Trevarrow, and Barbara Turrentine Fryrear; the group first gathered in private homes, where members would set up their easels to paint together; and

WHEREAS, Since its founding, the organization has remained 9 dedicated to its mission of helping to enhance local citizens' 10 11 knowledge, understanding, and appreciation of art while enabling 12 its membership to enjoy the fellowship of other artists; today, in addition to hosting weekly painting sessions at the Center for the 13 14 Arts at Jaycee Park, the group sponsors demonstrations, workshops, and introductory classes, as well as several annual competitions; 15 16 and

WHEREAS, The IAA has also been an enthusiastic supporter of area students, with a yearly exhibition of their work held at the Arts Center on MacArthur Boulevard and a scholarship offered to a promising high school senior; and

21 WHEREAS, The Irving Art Association provides a wealth of 22 cultural opportunities to the residents of its community, and it is 23 a pleasure to recognize the organization on this significant 24 occasion in its rich history; now, therefore, be it

1

H.R. No. 281

1 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 82nd Texas 2 Legislature, 1st Called Session, hereby honor the Irving Art 3 Association on its 55th anniversary and extend to all those 4 associated with the group sincere best wishes for the future; and, 5 be it further

6 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 7 prepared for the association as an expression of high regard by the 8 Texas House of Representatives.

Harper-Brown

H.R. No. 281

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 281 was adopted by the House on June 28, 2011, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House