H.R. No. 291

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, A full and productive life drew to a close with the 2 death of former Kinney County judge Oscar Thomas Seargeant of

3 Brackettville on September 29, 2009, at the age of 85; and

4 WHEREAS, The son of Albert James Seargeant and Laura Lee

Maddux, Tommy Seargeant was born in Brackettville on January 20,

6 1924; he was baptized at St. Mary Magdalene Catholic Church on

7 February 17, 1924, and he served as an altar boy and then as an

8 usher; he was joined in matrimony to the former Wilda Jean Nash and

9 they later became the parents of four children, Susan, Thomas,

10 David, and Anne; and

5

12

13

11 WHEREAS, Judge Seargeant was a rancher for more than four

decades and was a member of the board of the Rio Grande Electric

Co-Op for 30 years; in 1971, he became the first president of Fort

14 Clark Springs; he was also a director of the First State Bank in

15 Brackettville for about two decades; dedicated to his community, he

16 served as county judge for 16 years; he took great pride in the

17 natural beauty of his birthplace, and he eventually sold 6,300

18 acres of land to the Texas Parks and Wildlife Department in order to

19 protect it for future generations; in 2010, the Seargeant Memorial

20 Trail was dedicated in his honor in Kickapoo Cavern State Park; and

21 WHEREAS, Tommy Seargeant set an inspiring example of civic

22 engagement, and although he is deeply missed by those who were

23 privileged to share in his love and friendship, his contributions

24 continue to resonate in the community; now, therefore, be it

H.R. No. 291

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 82nd Texas
Legislature, 1st Called Session, hereby pay tribute to the memory
of former Kinney County judge Oscar Thomas "Tommy" Seargeant and
extend sincere condolences to his loved ones; and, be it further
RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
prepared for his family and that when the Texas House of
Representatives adjourns this day, it do so in memory of Oscar

8 Thomas "Tommy" Seargeant.

Gallego

H.R. No. 291

Straus Aliseda Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson of Dallas Anderson of McLennan Aycock Beck Berman Bohac Bonnen Branch Brown Burkett Burnam Button Cain Callegari Carter Castro Chisum Christian Coleman Cook Craddick Creighton Crownover Darby Davis of Dallas J. Davis of Harris S. Davis of Harris Deshotel Driver Dukes Dutton Eiland Eissler Elkins Farias Farrar Fletcher Flynn Frullo Gallego Garza	Gonzales of Williamson Gonzalez Gooden Guillen Gutierrez Hamilton Hancock Hardcastle Harless Harper-Brown Hartnett Hernandez Luna Hilderbran Hochberg Hopson Howard of Fort Bend Howard of Travis Huberty Hughes Hunter Isaac Jackson Johnson Keffer King of Parker King of Taylor King of Zavala Kleinschmidt Kolkhorst Kuempel Landtroop Larson Laubenberg Lavender Legler Lewis Lozano Lucio III Lyne Madden Mallory Caraway Margo Marquez Martinez Martinez Martinez Martinez Martinez Martinez Martinez Martinez Menendez Milos	Munoz, Jr. Murphy Naishtat Nash Oliveira Orr Otto Parker Patrick Paxton Pena Perry Phillips Pickett Pitts Price Quintanilla Raymond Reynolds Riddle Ritter Rodriguez Schwertner Scott Sheets Sheffield Shelton Simpson Smith of Harris Smith of Tarrant Smithee Solomons Strama Taylor of Collin Taylor of Galveston Thompson Torres Truitt Turner Veasey Villarreal Vo Walle Weber White Woolley
Garza Geren		
Giddings Gonzales of Hidalgo	Miller of Comal Miller of Erath	Zedler Zerwas

	H.R. No. 291
	Speaker of the House
I certify that H.R. No. 291 was rote of the House on June 29, 2011.	unanimously adopted by a rising
ote of the house on dune 25, 2011.	
	Chief Clerk of the House