SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 62

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas is pleased to recognize the Texas A&M University track and field program, which recently won an unprecedented third consecutive sweep of the men's and women's team titles at the National Collegiate Athletic Association Outdoor Championships; and

WHEREAS, The Aggie teams each clinched their titles with dramatic victories in the last race of the day, the 1,600-meter relay; and

WHEREAS, The Aggie women's team consists of Laura Asimakis, Jessica Beard, Ashley Collier, Dominique Duncan, Daphne Fitzpatrick, Donique' Flemings, Emalie Humphreys, Sasha-Kay Matthias, Gabby Mayo, Ibukun Mayungbe, Natasha Ruddock, Andrea Sutherland, and Jeneba Tarmoh; and

WHEREAS, The Aggie men's team members are Michael Bryan, Wayne Davis II, Melvin Echard, Prezel Hardy, Jr., Tabarie Henry, Tran Howell, Sam Humphreys, Bryan Miller, Gerald Phiri, Demetrius Pinder, Michael Preble, Julian Reid, Joey Roberts, and Tyron Stewart; and

WHEREAS, The Aggies have achieved this great success under the outstanding leadership of head coach Pat Henry, who was aided by assistant coaches Vince Anderson, Juan De La Garza, Alleyne Francique, Jim VanHootegem, and Dan Waters, with additional support from Brian Bancroft, Shawn Price, Andreas Behm, Mike Bina, Noah Bryant, Zach Glavash, Kevin Ondrasek, Wallace Spearmon, Saul Luna, Sam Gonzales, Katie McIntire, Beau Brehm, Jesika Jones, Matt Luna, and Brandon Law; now, therefore, be it RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 82nd Legislature, 1st Called Session, hereby extend congratulations to the Texas ASM University men's and women's outdoor track and

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 82nd Legislature, 1st Called Session, hereby extend congratulations to the Texas A&M University men's and women's outdoor track and field teams for winning their third consecutive National Collegiate Athletic Association championship titles and achieving a historic "triple-double" for the school; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for the teams as an expression of esteem from the Texas Senate.

Ogden

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on June 20, 2011.

Secretary of the Senate