SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 102

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas is pleased to recognize Steve Salazar, who has represented the citizens of District 6 on the Dallas City Council since 2003; and

WHEREAS, Steve Salazar began his career in public service in 1992 as a Dallas County Community College trustee when he was 26 years old; he was elected to the Dallas City Council in 1995 and served as deputy mayor pro tempore from 1997 to 2001; he is currently serving his fifth term on the council and is the most senior council member; and

WHEREAS, He has served as chair of the Housing Committee and as a member of the Economic Development, Quality of Life and Government Services, and Trinity River Committees; he has also served on the National Public Safety and Crime Prevention Steering Committee of the National League of Cities, and he has served as president of the Mexican American Democrats for the State of Texas; and

WHEREAS, Steve Salazar graduated from The University of Texas at Arlington and received his law degree from the University of Houston School of Law in 1988; he is licensed to practice before the Texas Supreme Court, the United States District Court-Northern District, and the United States Court of Appeals for the Fifth Circuit; and

Appeals for the Fifth Circuit; and WHEREAS, Steve Salazar is a dynamic figure in the Dallas community, who has contributed significantly to the betterment of the city; he is indeed a man of many talents and a highly respected leader who is an inspiration to all who know him; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 82nd Legislature, 1st Called Session, hereby commend Dallas City Councilman Steve Salazar for his service to his community and extend to him best wishes for continued success in the future; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for him as an expression of high regard from the Texas Senate.

West

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on June 24, 2011.

Secretary of the Senate

Member, Texas Senate