## SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 111

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas is pleased to recognize Captain Jimmy M. Holland, who is retiring from the Friendswood Police Department after more than 35 years of exemplary service in law enforcement; and

WHEREAS, Captain Holland began his career in law enforcement as a reserve police officer in Irving before serving in Vietnam as a military policeman with the United States Army; following his military service, he returned to Texas, where, in 1977, he became the sixth full-time peace officer for the City of Friendswood; and

WHEREAS, Through the years, Captain Holland has held many important positions within the department, including interim police chief, and has seen it grow from a small-town force of six officers and one dispatcher to a modern police department with 57 sworn officers, 28 civilian employees, and such state-of-the-art technology as mobile data computers; and

WHEREAS, A role model for his fellow officers and an ambassador to the community, Captain Holland has enthusiastically undertaken such vital tasks as overseeing the construction of the city's new public safety facility and supervising logistical operations on a day-to-day basis and during crises like Hurricane Rita and Hurricane Ike; and

WHEREAS, An exemplary peace officer, Captain Holland is respected and admired by civilians and fellow officers for his professionalism, his loyalty, and his commitment to excellence, and his presence at the Friendswood Police Department will be greatly missed; now, therefore, be it

**RESOLVED**, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 82nd Legislature, 1st Called Session, hereby commend Captain Jimmy M. Holland on his exceptional service to the people of Friendswood and extend to him best wishes for continued success in all his future endeavors; and, be it further

**RESOLVED,** That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for him as an expression of esteem from the Texas Senate.

Jackson

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on June 27, 2011.

## Secretary of the Senate