BILL ANALYSIS

Senate Research Center

S.B. 386 By: Williams Higher Education 8/4/2011 Enrolled

AUTHOR'S / SPONSOR'S STATEMENT OF INTENT

In 2008, it was determined that the name North Harris Montgomery Community College District was no longer appropriate since the community college had added parts of San Jacinto County, Walker County, and Liberty County to its service area.

Since state law requires the name of a community college to have some local geographic or historic relevance, the name Lone Star College System District was selected because Montgomery County has been designated by the Texas Legislature as the birth place of the Lone Star Flag.

The community is in support of the name change and the name was chosen in a public online forum.

S.B. 386 amends current law relating to the Lone Star College System District service area.

RULEMAKING AUTHORITY

This bill does not expressly grant any additional rulemaking authority to a state officer, institution, or agency.

SECTION BY SECTION ANALYSIS

SECTION 1. Amends Section 130.191, Education Code, as follows:

Sec. 130.191. New heading: LONE STAR COLLEGE SYSTEM DISTRICT SERVICE AREA. Provides that the service area of the Lone Star College System District, rather than the North Harris Montgomery Community College District, includes the territory within:

(1) the Aldine, Conroe, Cypress-Fairbanks, Humble, New Caney, Spring, Tomball, Magnolia, Willis, Montgomery, Splendora, Cleveland, Tarkington, and Klein independent school districts; and

(2) the Huntsville and New Waverly independent school districts in Walker County.

SECTION 2. Effective date: upon passage or September 1, 2011.