WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas is pleased to
  join the citizens of Hill County and Texans across the state in
  celebrating February 23, 2011, as Hill County Day at the State
  Capitol; and
         WHEREAS, Situated on the scenic prairies and rolling hills
  east of the Brazos River, Hill County was established on February
  7, 1853, and was named for Dr. George Washington Hill, secretary
  of war for the Republic of Texas under President Sam Houston; and
         WHEREAS, The citizens of Hill County have maintained the
  charm and friendliness of a small rural county while adapting to
  the rapid pace of today's changing world; the historic county
  courthouse in Hillsboro has been restored to its 1890s splendor
  and continues to serve as the hub for county business; and
         WHEREAS, The birthplace of legendary singer and songwriter
  Willie Nelson, Hill County provides numerous recreational and
  cultural opportunities for residents and visitors alike, from
  Lake Whitney State Park to numerous fairs and festivals to Hill
  College's acclaimed Performing Arts Series; the college also
  houses the Texas Heritage Museum with its famous Audie Murphy
  exhibit and a historical research center with a 10,000-volume
  library on the Civil War; and
         WHEREAS, The citizens of Hill County look confidently to
  the future while embracing their illustrious past; it is truly
  fitting that their home be honored on this special day; now,
  therefore, be it
         RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 82nd
  Legislature, hereby commend the people of Hill County on their
  many contributions to the rich history and culture of our state
  and extend to them best wishes for a memorable Hill County Day at
  the State Capitol; and, be it further
         RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for
  them as an expression of esteem from the Texas Senate.
        President of the Senate
        I hereby certify that the
    above Resolution was adopted by
    the Senate on February 2, 2011.
        Secretary of the Senate
         Member, Texas Senate