H.B. No. 1897

1	AN ACT
2	relating to the jurisdiction of, number of jurors in, and the clerk
3	serving the County Court at Law of Van Zandt County.
4	BE IT ENACTED BY THE LEGISLATURE OF THE STATE OF TEXAS:
5	SECTION 1. Section 25.2362, Government Code, is amended by
6	amending Subsections (a) and (f) and adding Subsection (i) to read
7	as follows:
8	(a) In addition to the jurisdiction provided by Section
9	25.0003 and other law, and except as limited by Subsection (b), a
10	county court at law in Van Zandt County has concurrent jurisdiction
11	with the district court in:
12	(1) felony cases to:
13	<pre>(A) conduct arraignments;</pre>
14	(B) conduct pretrial hearings;
15	(C) accept guilty pleas; and
16	(D) conduct jury trials on assignment of a
17	district judge presiding in Van Zandt County and acceptance of the
18	assignment by the judge of the county court at law;
19	(2) Class A and Class B misdemeanor cases;
20	<pre>(3) family law matters;</pre>
21	<pre>(4) juvenile matters;</pre>
22	(5) probate matters;
23	(6) guardianship matters; and
24	(7) [(6)] appeals from the justice and municipal

1

H.B. No. 1897

1 courts.

2 (f) The district clerk serves as clerk of a county court at 3 law in <u>family court</u> matters <u>and proceedings</u> [of concurrent 4 jurisdiction with the district court], and the county clerk shall 5 serve as clerk of a county court at law in all other matters. Each 6 clerk shall establish a separate docket for a county court at law.

7 <u>(i) If a jury trial is requested in a case that is in a</u> 8 <u>county court at law's jurisdiction, the jury shall be composed of</u> 9 <u>six members unless the constitution requires a 12-member jury.</u>

10

SECTION 2. This Act takes effect September 1, 2011.

H.B. No. 1897

President of the Senate

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.B. No. 1897 was passed by the House on May 13, 2011, by the following vote: Yeas 144, Nays 0, 1 present, not voting.

Chief Clerk of the House

I certify that H.B. No. 1897 was passed by the Senate on May 25, 2011, by the following vote: Yeas 31, Nays 0.

Secretary of the Senate

APPROVED:

Date

Governor