By: Smithee

1

H.B. No. 3850

A BILL TO BE ENTITLED

AN ACT

2 relating to the application of the professional prosecutors law to 3 the county attorney of Oldham County and the district attorney for 4 the 287th Judicial District.

BE IT ENACTED BY THE LEGISLATURE OF THE STATE OF TEXAS:
SECTION 1. Section 45.280(b), Government Code, is amended

7 to read as follows:

8 (b) The county attorney in Oldham County is entitled to be 9 compensated by the state in the manner and amount provided by 10 general law relating to the salary paid to <u>a</u> district judge 11 [attorneys] by the state <u>as provided by Section 46.003, except</u> 12 <u>that</u>[-] Oldham County shall pay \$28,500 of the county attorney's 13 total salary, and the state shall pay the remainder of the salary.

SECTION 2. Section 46.002, Government Code, is amended to read as follows:

16 Sec. 46.002. PROSECUTORS SUBJECT TO CHAPTER. This chapter 17 applies to the state prosecuting attorney, all county prosecutors, 18 and the following state prosecutors:

(1) the district attorneys for Kenedy and Kleberg
Counties and for the 1st, 2nd, 8th, 9th, 12th, 18th, 21st, 23rd,
25th, 26th, 27th, 29th, 31st, 32nd, 33rd, 34th, 35th, 36th, 38th,
39th, 42nd, 43rd, 46th, 47th, 49th, 50th, 51st, 52nd, 53rd, 63rd,
64th, 66th, 69th, 70th, 76th, 81st, 83rd, 84th, 85th, 88th, 90th,
97th, 100th, 105th, 106th, 109th, 110th, 112th, 118th, 119th,

1

H.B. No. 3850

123rd, 142nd, 143rd, 145th, 156th, 159th, 173rd, 196th, 198th,
 216th, 220th, 229th, 235th, 253rd, 258th, 259th, 266th, 268th,
 271st, 286th, 287th, 329th, 344th, 349th, 355th, and 506th judicial
 districts;

5 (2) the criminal district attorneys for the counties of Anderson, Austin, Bastrop, Bexar, Bowie, Brazoria, Caldwell, 6 Calhoun, Cass, Collin, Comal, Dallas, Deaf Smith, Denton, Eastland, 7 8 Fannin, Galveston, Grayson, Gregg, Harrison, Hays, Hidalgo, Jasper, Jefferson, Kaufman, Lubbock, McLennan, Madison, Navarro, 9 10 Newton, Panola, Polk, Randall, Rockwall, San Jacinto, Smith, Tarrant, Taylor, Tyler, Upshur, Van Zandt, Victoria, Walker, 11 12 Waller, Wichita, Wood, and Yoakum; and

(3) the county attorneys performing the duties of
district attorneys in the counties of Andrews, Callahan, Cameron,
Castro, Colorado, Crosby, Ellis, Falls, Freestone, Lamar, Lamb,
Lampasas, Lee, Limestone, Marion, Milam, Morris, Ochiltree,
<u>Oldham,</u> Orange, Rains, Red River, Robertson, Rusk, Swisher, Terry,
Webb, and Willacy.

SECTION 3. Section 45.280(c), Government Code, is repealed.
 SECTION 4. This Act takes effect September 1, 2011.

2